Uncategorized · writing

#FirstLineFriday

FirstLineFriday

I have stolen this like I steal most of my tags. This shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone. I have burgled it right out from under the nose of Kat @ Life and Other Disasters, and she in turn got it from Rami @ Rami Unger the Writer.

Yep yep.

And The Rules

  1. You create a blog post on your own blog entitled “#FirstLineFriday”, hashtag and all.
  2. You explain the rules.
  3. You post the first one or two lines of a potential story, a WIP, or a completed or published story.
  4. You ask your readers for feedback and encourage them to try and do #FirstLineFriday.

Simple. However, since I can’t follow the rules, I am posting the first lines of not one but TWO of my WIPs, because I can’t decide which of these WIPs deserve an extra 30k from Camp NaNoWriMo. Maybe, based on these first sentences, you, oh blogglings, will help me decide.

THE FIRST LINES FROM PLEASE PASS THE BLOOD

AKA, my vampire novel. Blood! Guts! Pastries! Saffron ice cream! Cute characters that could eat you! A book that will make you hungry yet turn your stomach at the same time!

I spotted my prey from across the room. I slipped through the crush of bodies with a practiced ease, drawing closer to him and his pounding heart.

THE FIRST LINES FROM MY UNTITLED NEMEAN LION RETELLING

AKA, lion shapeshifters! Photographs! Robobabies! Dogs named after X-Files characters!

I wish I could say it was unusual for me to wake up naked in the middle of a pasture. I was curled up in a fetal position, and when I sat up my muscles protested, sore and aching.

Now is when I’m supposed to tag people, but I believe everyone I follow who’s a writer has already done this tag at some point, so I tag anyone who wants to do it!

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

11 thoughts on “#FirstLineFriday

      1. Sorry about that, wasn’t what I intended to comment. My computer has been glitching lately.

        I love how you describe your stories, those first lines are great! The Vampire one sounds awesome!

        Like

  1. Oh, they’re both so intriguing! I think I’m also leaning towards the second, but only because I tend to like shapeshifter stories more often than vampire stories .. good luck! 🙂

    Like

  2. OMG I AM SO INTRIGUED. XD Especially by the last one! Let’s just say that hooky first-sentences are amazing and I think you just won. XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

