books · top ten tuesday · Uncategorized

Top Ten Books I Haven’t Shoved In Your Faces Nearly Enough

5f295-toptentuesday

I think I’ve said it before, but blogging is one of the ways that I say “HEY WORLD, THIS BOOK IS AWESOME, READ IT NOW!” However, sometimes some of these books get pushed back in favor of other awesome books, and I just forget to talk about them. Which is a crime worthy of the grievest punishment; someone dog-earing all your books.

18163646.jpg

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

This book made me cry unashamedly. Luckily, I was alone in the house at the time so no one saw me freaking out and bawling. I actually put off reading this book for so long because A) 13 Reasons Why made me hesitant to read books about suicide (I didn’t like it. At all), and B) because I read a sample a long time ago and it didn’t really grab me. But then I read it. And I cried.

index.jpg

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

I just…kind of want to stare at the cover. Like, for a really long time. Because it is beautiful. Extremely beautiful. The book’s good, too.

index.jpg

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

This book is seriously the coolest! It’s written in things like hacked documents, mission reports, IM conversations…and it has a totally awesome setup, too. I was basically reading this book and drooling.

23830990.jpg

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I actually don’t really know what genre this book is. Contemporary? Urban fantasy? I DON’T KNOW. It has zombie deer in it (yes, I’m being completely serious). But really, the book isn’t about all the magical things that are happening, it’s about mental illness and family and friendship and all that stuff. It’s really, really good. Plus, the cover glows in the dark.

index.jpg

Illusionarium by Heather Dixon

Steampunk! Weird mutated people who have a half dozen too many eyes and three noses! Masks! Get it today!

index.jpg

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

I actually do talk about this one a pretty decent amount, but I think everyone should read it, so I shall keep talking about it. READ. IT. It’s completely amazing. Also, it’s a debut, so I’m hoping that the author announces she’s writing another book soon.

15863832.jpg

Angelfall by Susan Ee

So, you know how in a lot of post-apocalypse books it’s just a lot of kind of wandering around? Not in this book. It makes it very clear that it wouldn’t just be no hot showers and low food supplies, but that there would be people who need medication but aren’t on it, people who should be locked up but aren’t, and, really, it’s a world where the vicious thrive.

index.jpg

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

I am totally, utterly, completely in love with this book. It’s historical fantasy, but at the same time it’s sort of an alternate universe, because it’s if Hitler won WWII. It’s scary and intense and Yael, the MC, is awesome. There’s also a motorcycle race.

index.jpg

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

It’s funny how few antiheroes seem to be girls. But Nimona is. She’s bloodthirsty and has a vicious streak but at the same time you can’t help but like her and think that she has a pretty good heart even though she kills people.

A1bCf-Xhe4L.jpg

 Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

If you are a nerd, read this.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Haven’t Shoved In Your Faces Nearly Enough

  1. I’ve heard amazing things about Falling Into Place! I’m really looking forward to reading The Rest of Us Just Live Here as well but many people didn’t like it as much as the other Patrick Ness books so I feel a little hesitant…

    Like

  2. I have Wolf By Wolf, The Rest of Us Just Live Here, Passenger and Falling Into Place all on my shelf! If you loved them thins much I really really don’t have an excuse for not having pick them up already!! But I will 10,000% agree Illuminae and Angelfall deserve all the flailing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

