blogging · Uncategorized

Five Reasons Why You Should Take Your Own Blog Photos

0001-211448930.png

Photography is a wonderful thing! Pictures are fun to take, and they’re also fun to look at. I call that a win-win! And people these days take a lot of pictures! We’ve got pretty decent cameras right on our cellphones, so why not use them? Instagram is easily one of the most popular forms of social media.

But, there are still people who don’t take their own blog photos, despite probably taking multiple pictures a day. If you are one of those people, here is a list of five reasons why you should be.

WinkPoppyMidnight.jpg

IT PROVIDES A NICE AESTHETIC

Pictures make your blog prettier. REALLY. They can spice up even the plainest of layouts, plus showcase your photography skills in one go.

Passenger

IT’S A GREAT WAY TO CATCH SOMEONE’S EYE ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Say you’re on Tumblr, and you’re scrolling through text post after text post, and suddenly, there it is! A beautiful, bookish photo, just sitting there. And, //gasp, there is a link to a blog with more of these beautiful photos.

IMG_3567

IT’S A GREAT WAY TO SHOWCASE YOUR FAVORITE BOOKS

 You can just squish all your favorite books into one picture! Isn’t that handy? Plus, when people ask what your favorite book is, you can just shove the picture in their face and waltz away.

BoneGap

IT HELPS IMPROVE YOUR PHOTOGRAPHY

My photography skills have improved in leaps and bounds since I started taking photos for my blog. Why? Because I have to take a lot of them. The vast majority of photos I take will never see the light of the internet! They will just rot away on the computer’s hard drive. FOREVER.

But the good part about this is, is that the photos you do see are way better than the ones I used to take. I’m constantly improving! And you would, too.

IMG_3440

BRAGGING RIGHTS

Because you get to tell people that the totally awesome photo that someone saw on your blogs and adores is yours!

ToGSeaGlass

BONUS: HELPFUL PHOTOGRAPHY LINKS

Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout gives a step by step guide on how to take an awesome bookish photo!

Amanda @ Nellie and Co tell you how to prepare for a photography shoot, plus list 50 props!

Alexandra @ Twirling Pages tells you how to take book photos like a queen!

and, Cait @ Paper Fury tells you how to edit your bookish photos, using PicMonkey!

So tell me, oh little blogglings, do you guys take your own photos? If not, do you plan to start? Do you have any totally fantastic plans for this weekend?

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

9 thoughts on “Five Reasons Why You Should Take Your Own Blog Photos

  1. I totally agree! Also with edits on headers and sidebars etc. The only problem for me is that most of the books I read are ebooks so I can’t really showcase the beauty of their spines or covers 😭

    Like

    1. Ooo, that stinks. And taking pictures of ebooks are freaking hard. Even if you pull up the cover on your cellphone or iPad or whatever, there’s still that weird kind of shiny look to it that’s super hard to edit out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I never took pictures of books until a few days ago. I took my first picture and I’m quite proud of it! Actually, I’m not interested in photography but all those Instagram accounts kind of inspired me. That being said, I love your photos! Great post!

    Like

  3. YESSS I COULDN’T AGREE MORE! Actually one of the biggest reasons I started taking photos was because I wanted prettiness for my blog but didn’t know where to get photos from without a dragon eating me for copyright reasons. I’m SO glad I did though, because I’m utterly obsessed. I even bought a camera because of bookish photos and I haven’t lost interest in it at all. I also LOVE how it’s kind of a craze through the bookish community to take photos of books. Instagram = MY ONE TRUE LOVE. 😍 😍
    I love how you can be recognised for your own photos too. :’) It’s super awesome and exciting, hehehe.
    (And I ADORE that Wink Poppy Midnight one omg. 😍)

    Like

    1. COPYRIGHT STUFF STRESSES ME OUT. Like, I had to read through all of the Canva rules and regulations things because I even TOUCHED it (as far as I can tell as long as I’m not making money off it I’m good?). But then you hear all those stories about newbie bloggers who are sued for some INSANE amount of money because they took one picture.
      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

