How To Get Your Friend To Read That Book They Still Haven’t Read

0001-215139422.png

FRIENDS, I TELL YA. You tell them all about that super awesome book they should totally read, and they seem super excited about it. And, then, a whole month later, you ask if they’ve read the book yet. They say no, they haven’t had the time yet.

So you check in after another two months. Than another month. And another. And before you know it, a year has passed and they have not read that book. Which is VERY frustrating because you just know they would adore that book.

Now, before you run off screaming in frustration, there are certain things you can do to make sure that read that book.

STEP ONE: CASUALLY MENTION IT IN CONVERSATIONS

Friend: “So, what’s new?”

You: “I just wrote a review for -book-!”

STEP TWO: CASUALLY REFERENCE IT IN CONVERSATIONS

Friend: “So, I’ve been craving chocolate ice cream lately.”

You: “You know -main character- from -book- loves chocolate ice cream.”

STEP THREE: START LEAVING IT WHERE THEY’LL SEE IT

Friend: “Who left -book- on my bed?”

You: *with a pointed look* “I did.”

STEP FOUR: START RECOMMENDING IT TO OTHER PEOPLE IN FRONT OF THEM

Other Friend: “I need something new to read. D’you have any recommendations?”

You: “Yeah, totally read -book- by -author-. It’s amazing, and totally worth the read. You’ll be sucked right in.

If this four steps do not work, it is time to start getting passive aggressive.

STEP FIVE: START SAYING HOW SAD IT IS THAT THERE’S NO ONE TO TALK ABOUT THIS BOOK WITH YOU

You: “Oh, I WISH one of my FRIENDS had read -book- so we could TALK ABOUT IT and FANGIRL TOGETHER.”

Friend: …

STEP SIX: START LEAVING IT IN EVEN MORE PLACES

Friend: “Why the heck did someone put -book- in the fridge?”

You: *giggling*

SEVEN: BUY THEM STUFF RELATING TO THE BOOK

You: “I bought you a tee-shirt!”

Friend: “Thanks? But I don’t get it.”

You: “It’s from -book-.”

If these seven steps haven’t worked, it is time to get actually aggressive.

STEP EIGHT: HIT THEM WITH IT

Friend: “OW! Stop hitting me with the book!”

You: “I will when you read it!”

STEP NINE: LEAVE IT IN THE MOST OBVIOUS PLACE

Friend: “WHY DID SOMEONE PUT -book- ON MY BOOKSHELF? I DON’T EVEN OWN IT.”

You: *crazed giggling*

STEP TEN: BUY IT FOR THEM

You: “Happy birthday!”

Friend: “FINE! I’ll READ IT. HAPPY?”

You: “Very!”

And then, they finally read it….

dwight-schrute-celebration-jump.gif

And you were right all along. They loved it.

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

14 thoughts on “How To Get Your Friend To Read That Book They Still Haven’t Read

  1. The only problem is that sometimes I’ve lent them that book, and then I want to recommend it to others while the first person still hasn’t read it, so I use that to make passive aggressive hints that they need to finish up already!

    Like

  2. Hahaha this is so true! I’ve been pushing my friend (who doesn’t like to read at all) to continue the Percy Jackson series since she loved the first book but it hasn’t succeeded so far 😭

    Like

  3. I haven’t had this problem much, funnily enough. My friends are pretty willing to read a book I recommend them because I do it really infrequently and try to base it on what they like as much as possible. My boyfriend is reading Ready Player One right now and really liking it! And my best friend read Nimona and loved it! I’m very much guilty of a lot of these haha. I’m always at a library or usually own a book I love so I’m guilty of just setting the book in front of them and I refuse to let them leave until they check it out.

    Like

    1. I try to, also, but the considering the sheer quantity of books I read I tend to recommend books I really think they’ll like, but it’s a lot. So I have to take the more passive aggressive approach.

      Like

Leave a Reply

