Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh

5f295-toptentuesday

Funny books are everything. Because if a book is funny, it can make you forgot for a second that all your precious baby characters are probably going to DIE and you’re NEVER going to be able to read about them again.

(or, y’know, ’cause funny things are entertaining).

But not all humor = happy Aine. There are some types of humor that I don’t like. I’m not a huge fan of sexual or crude humor, nor of slapstick humor. Any humor that makes fun or mocks someone I don’t think is funny, either. And I’m not really a fan of the “random” type of humor, either (where characters just suddenly blurt out something weird in an effort to be funny).

I DO like drier, wittier, darker humor. Sarcasm. Good-natured teasing. Things like that.

51hgkNew+XL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

PAPER TOWNS BY JOHN GREEN

Yes, some of this book has humor I don’t like. But I like the unplanned franticness of the road trip.

Those of us who frequent the band room have long suspected that Becca maintains her lovely figure by eating nothing but the souls of kittens and the dreams of impoverished children.

8041873

HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER BY LISH MCBRIDE

Sam is sarcastic and witty and the tiniest bit confused. And he has no problem with being extremely sarcastic to the Big Bad Villain of the book.

“So, you’re telling me the zoo commissioned you to make a zombie panda in order to avoid a potential international incident.”

51Z3ZotTWfL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

FURIOUSLY HAPPY BY JENNY LAWSON

This is a hilarious book about horrible things like depression and anxiety, and it manages to be funny without! being! mocking!

The phrase “Rest in peace” seems incredibly self-serving. It basically means, “Stay in your grave. Don’t haunt me.

51zb1Ggd5VL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

THE RAVEN BOYS BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

This series has a very dry, witty sort of humor, which I really enjoy. Plus lots of sarcasticness.

“We have to be back in three hours,” Ronan said. “I just fed Chainsaw but she’ll need it again.”

“This,” Gansey replied “is precisely why I didn’t want to have a baby with you.”

 19547856.jpg

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA BY BECKY ALBERTALLI

Lots of sarcastic-ness and kind of dorky, awkward characters which caused lots of giggling.

“It feels like we’re the last survivors of the zombie apocalypse. Wonder Woman and a gay dementor. It doesn’t bode well for the survival of the species.”

41SucU4QakL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

EMMY & OLIVER BY ROBIN BENWAY

Like Simon Vs., this is full of the cutest, dorkiest characters ever. Plus, Emmy’s parents are actually pretty funny, which seems to be a rare thing in YA novels.

“Could you please stop dripping your sarcasm all over my car’s interior?”

51NcMaqTCsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO BY PATRICK NESS

I’m actually not quite sure how to describe this book’s humor. Especially since it’s not a funny book, it’s just a book with funny moments.

“Hello, sheep!” Tam shouts. 

“Sheep!” say the sheep.

anna_and_the_french_kiss.jpg

ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS BY STEPHANIE PERKINS

Anna’s adorable awkwardness made me laugh more than once.

“Girl scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.”

13206900

WINTER BY MARISSA MEYER

The entire series is funny, and it’s mostly because whatever comes out of Thorne’s mouth is pure gold, and Cinder has this kind of sarcastic, awesome type of humor. And the banter between Cinder and Thorne is amazing.

“Did you see any rice in there? Maybe we could fill Cinder’s head with it.”

Everyone stared at him.

“You know, to…absorb the moisture, or something. Isn’t that a thing?”

“We’re not putting rice in my head.”

index.jpg

THE LIFEBOAT CLIQUE BY KATHY PARKS

Problems with this book or not (they should have all been dead before the book even reached the halfway point), the book is filled with a dark, dry humor, that’s actually surprisingly funny.

“Ironic, isn’t it?”

“What?”

“Here I am, trying to survive WITH you, when before my whole plan was just trying to SURVIVE YOU.”

“I’m not sure what that means. And I wish you’d stop talking in puzzles and just say normal things, because I’ve had a big shock. This morning I was looking at a YouTube video of a hamster eating a tiny burrito and now I’m floating on this stupid raft and my friends are dead so just keep that in mind.”

So, oh my blogglings, what books have made you laugh out loud recently? Do our lists share any?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh

  1. Oh, The Raven Boys. I love all those boys, and the way Blue sees the world. It’s soooo hilarious too. The characters are just so themselves. Also, WINTER YES! All of the Lunar Chronicles is hilarious at the most unexpected moments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

