Uncategorized · writing

Snazzy Snippets: May 2016

snazzy-snippets-graphic

Hello. I am writing this post late at night. Well, not really late at night (it’s only like eight), but it feels like about midnight because I am so. freaking. exhausted. Seriously. I’m going to get home tomorrow and sleep for years.

Anyways.

So, Snazzy Snippets is a writing link-up hosted by Alyssa and Emily, who also happen to run totally awesome blogs, so, y’know, click on the links.

The snippet prompt things for this month is this:

A snippet that was difficult to write (define ‘difficult’ as you like!)
or
A snippet you had a lot of fun writing
or
A snippet you plan to delete/significantly revise

The snippets this month are from a WIP I haven’t talked about much; it’s called A Dance With Monsters, and is a urban fantasy/magical realism novel, and the whole idea has been kind of lurking in the back of my head for more than a year. And I figure it’s probably time to write it. So I started writing it. And I am totally in love with it. I don’t think I’ve ever had another piece of writing come as easily to me, which is freaking awesome.

Yep yep.

A SNIPPET THAT WAS DIFFICULT TO WRITE:

My dreams are made of music and smoke and dancing things. They are always the same, always exactly the same, full of swirling half-seen figures and thundering drumbeats and the sharp tang of the smoke heavy in my throat and nose. I will wade through a fog as thick as soup, my feet bare against the cold, damp dirt. The dancers will spin around me, but every time I try to view a face, they have been whisked out of sight. I will wake up, desperate and aching and frustrated, and longing for something that I cannot quite place.

It has been like this for as long as I can remember.

This is the first paragraph of the novel, and it just doesn’t feel quite right somehow, so it’s super frustrating and I keep going back and editing it, and it’s just so difficult. grr.

A SNIPPET YOU HAD A LOT OF FUN WRITING:

Oliver shoves something into the palm of my hand, her grin lopsided, her lipstick smeared. Her mask is missing a couple of glittery rhinestones. I open my hand and stare down.

“You didn’t.”

“I did!” Oliver looks immensely proud of herself, and I grin at her before shoveling the faerie cake into my mouth.

I moan. The palm-sized cake looks innocent enough; like an unfrosted, unrisen vanilla cupcake. But the cake itself is so moist and delicate it practically disolves when you take a bite of it, leaving the gentle aftertaste of almond. And inside the cake itself is a coffee cream, smooth and delicious. And, in the heart of it all, is a tiny caramel, buttery and rich, and just melts in your mouth.

I  adore writing scenes with food. It’s so fun.

A SNIPPET YOU PLAN TO DELETE/SIGNIFICANTLY REVISE:

Caitlyn throws an arm around my shoulder and pulls me tight, the feathers at the edge of her mask tickling my face. I can smell the pungent red wine on her breath, and I can tell she’s already had more than one cup by the way she sways, unsteady on her feet. She’s got a red plastic cup clutched in her hand, and I ease it away. “I think you’ve have enough, Caitlyn.”

She pouts. “But, Evie! It’s the Autumn festival! How else are we supposed to scare away the faeries?”

I sigh.

It just doesn’t feel that needed to me. I dunno.

So, tell me blogglings, what are you writing currently? Anything fun? Do you like writing food scenes, as well?

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

8 thoughts on “Snazzy Snippets: May 2016

  1. I love how poetic the first snippet sounds, although I understand being frustrated with your first lines. I feel the same way about my current WIP. Still, even if it doesn’t work out in the end, I think you have lovely language to springboard from. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

