books · Uncategorized

Top Ten Books that I Picked Up on a Whim

5f295-toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is all about spur of the moment bookish picks. I actually do this more than I’d like to admit, and I have spent more money than I like to admit on books that I’ve ended up not liking very much.

But, sometimes, there are surprises! And ones that I really enjoyed, despite them maybe not being what I typically read.

images.jpg

A TYRANNY OF PETTICOATS, EDITED BY JESSICA SPOTSWOOD

Normally I’m a bit cautious about anthologies, simply because they tend not to be very good. A lot of medicore stories, with one or two good ones. But I knew and liked several of the authors writing for this, plus, the idea is pretty fantastic. And yeah, I liked it.

4667024

THE HELP BY KATHRYN STOCKETT

This is not only a historical fiction novel (gasp!), it’s also adult fiction (GASP!), which I pretty much never read. I like the whole coming of age thing happening in YA! Plus, adult fiction tends to be scarily long. But after hearing “this is such a good book, Aine, you need to read it!” over and over, I read it. And I liked it.

51LKTQmvKxL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

WOLF BY WOLF BY RYAN GRAUDIN

I BASICALLY NEEDED BLOOD FOR BLOOD YESTERDAY. BECAUSE I ADORE THIS BOOK. I’m serious; this is easily my favorite read of 2016 so far, and it’s going down in my list of favorite books ever. And considering I maybe only read one or two books each year that I feel that strongly about…well, that tells you how good this is. READ IT.

17661416

MADE YOU UP BY FRANCESCA ZAPPIA

I kinda sorta mostly picked this book up because of it’s cover. But in my defense, it’s a really great cover! And it turned out to be a really great book, too.

lios-cover1

LIFE IN OUTER SPACE BY MELISSA KEIL

I kind of thought this would be sci-fi? I actually didn’t really read the blurb. Someone told me to read it, and I needed something to read, and so I read it. And I really liked it, despite it being contemporary and not sci-fi like I thought. It has geeky characters! And writers!

91nLRtzrS6L

MAGONIA BY MARIA DAHVANA HEADLEY

This is another I-picked-it-up-because-I-liked-the-cover thing. And I also really liked the book! It was super unique and kind of weird with beautiful writing and snarky characters that I liked and disliked at the same time.

16068905

FANGIRL BY RAINBOW ROWELL

I picked this up because of the title. That’s right; I picked up one of my favorite books ever…because of the title. And I’m extremely glad I did, let me tell you. I still hold Cath as my favorite bookish character of possibly ever, and this is my comfort read, meaning that I’ll read it every five or so months and not get tired of it. It’s pretty awesome.

index

WALK ON EARTH A STRANGER BY RAE CARSON

Another I-picked-it-up-because-of-the-cover thing, and I’m eagerly awaiting the second.

51Z3ZotTWfL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

FURIOUSLY HAPPY BY JENNY LAWSON

It caught my eye because of the raccoon. I actually read it because it’s about anxiety. And depression and insomnia and a several other things, and it’s written by a blogger, which is totally awesome. And it also manages to be funny without being mocking, which I really loved.

9780062278234

NIMONA BY NOELLE STEVENSON

I liked the art style in this, mostly because it was Noelle Stevenson who drew the art on the Fangirl cover, which I didn’t know then but it bugged me because the style looked super familiar.

Tell me, blogglings, what’s the last book you picked up on a whim? Did you like it or not? Why did you pick it up?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Books that I Picked Up on a Whim

  1. I’ve always wanted to read Made You Up and The Help. Also, I’ve heard about Furiously Happy and it sounds like it’s really good too!

    Actually, I normally pick books up on a whim. I wander the library and find a cover or title that catches my eye, and forget about all the recs and reviews I’ve gotten from fellow bloggers. Sometimes I don’t even read the blurb. But because of that, I don’t hold myself to finish the book if I don’t like it. So while I might take home ten books from the library, I may only finished two.

    Like

    1. That’s normally how I do it, too…but occasionally (like if we’re on vacation or something) I’ll actually buy the book. And, like you, forget about my gazillion other books I’ve been meaning to read.

      Like

  2. So many great choices! I love Fangirl, Walk on Earth a Stranger, and Wolf by Wolf. A Tyranny of Petticoats is really good, too. And I enjoyed The Help! (I’m also not really into adult fiction, so I was surprised how much I liked it. It might’ve helped that I saw the movie first, haha.)

    Like

    1. I know! Like, I’m not all that into adult fiction, either, but The Help made it into my list of all-time favorites, and it’s adult fiction! And historical fiction, too, which should have been two marks against it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

