books · monthly recipe · reading · Uncategorized

Monthly Recipe: Lara Jean’s Chai Spice Sugar Cookies + Giveaway!

0001-257883973.png

I have decided to start a new feature on the blog; a monthly recipe, posted the first Friday of every month, based on a food mentioned from a book. This month, this very first month, is Chai Spice Cookies, based off of Lara Jean’s from P.S. I Still Love You By Jenny Han.

The cookie recipe is adapted from the recipe in the cookbook The Secret Lives of Baked Goods by Jessie Oleson Moore, which is a totally awesome cookbook, published by a local publisher, by a local author and food blogger. The icing recipe is my own. I’m not going to post the actual cookie recipe on here, because of copyright laws and whatever, but using any soft, mildly flavored sugar cookie recipe would work just as well as the one from the book.

Chai Spice Sugar Cookies

vanillabean.jpg

The very first thing you do is preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and line two cookie sheats with parchment paper. Then scrape the caviar from one vanilla bean. Make sure not to get any of the brown, stringy stuff from the inside, it’s super unpleasant to take a bite of something and find one of those in your food.

flourbowl.jpg

Next, mix together your dry ingredients. What you see in this bowl is flour, baking soda, salt, and spices traditionally used in chai.I used 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, 1/8 of a teaspoon nutmeg, 1/8 of a teaspoon ground star anise, 1/4 of a teaspoon cloves, and 1/4 of a teaspoon cardamom.

butter.jpg

Next, cream the butter with sugar and the vanilla bean caviar until pale and fluffy.

eggs.jpg

Add the eggs to the butter, sugar, and vanilla mixture.Then add the milk and vanilla. I didn’t actually measure the vanilla, but I’d say I added around 1/2 of a teaspoon. Mix and scrape down the sides.

flour

Next, add the flour in three batches, scraping down the sides between each addition.

cookiedough.jpg

Using a ice cream scoop, place dollops of dough on the sheet about three inches apart. Cook for 12 to 15 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through.

milkchai.jpg

While the cookies bake, make the icing. Steep one tablespoon of chai mixture in 1/2 cup hot milk for ten minutes. If you don’t have a chai mixture, than use two teabags. You want to make sure that the chai taste is strong.

cookies.jpg

Take the the cookies out of the oven and let them cool for five minutes on the cookie sheets, then completely cool on wire racks. You’ll know the cookies are done when you touch the tops softly and it springs back.

icing.jpg

Sift four cups of confectioner’s (powdered) sugar. Remove the chai mixture from the milk and mix in the milk little bits at a time, until the icing is thick enough that it won’t make the cookies soggy, but is still pourable. If it doesn’t taste strongly enough of the chai spices, add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of ginger, and 1/4 a teaspoon of cardamom a little bit at a time, tasting as you go.

Use a spoon to pour the icing over the completely cooled sugar cookies, and let harden. You can keep the cookies at room temperture for three days, in the fridge for a week, or in the freezer for six months.

cookieiced.jpg

In order to celebrate the start of this extremely funny, extremely yummy blog series, I’m hosting a giveaway! The winner will have a choice between one kindle copy of The Secret Lives of Baked Goods by Jessie Oleson Moore, Or one kindle copy of P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han!

Rafflecopter giveaway here!

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

11 thoughts on “Monthly Recipe: Lara Jean’s Chai Spice Sugar Cookies + Giveaway!

  1. Omg, those cookies looks amazing. I honestly want one right now! Lara Jean’s baked goods were so mouth-watering and I love how you made them in real life. I wish I could bake, but I’m a real mess in the kitchen. 😅💞

    Like

      1. I’ve made arancini, the Italian version, but those are fried and take FOREVER to make, and Lara Jean’s seemed similar and required no frying, so I think if I ever get the time I’ll mess around and see if I can figure out a recipe.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. THESE LOOK DELICIOUS CAN I JUST EAT MY COMPUTER SCREEN NOW. YES AND THANK YOU. *flails* Also I just borrowed the first book of this out from my library and I’m hugely excited!! 😀 😀 Especially if it contains food. Because food.

    Like

    1. I’M GLAD THEY LOOK GOOD, because the icing/glaze stuff gets all shiny as it hardens, and I had to contort myself into a weird position where there wasn’t ten tons of glare, and even then, it took a lot of editing to even look halfway decent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

