books · Uncategorized

Top Ten Books Of The First Half of 2016 That I Ate Whole

5f295-toptentuesday

So far, I think I’ve read more five-star books in 2016 than I read in the entirety of 2015. Which is really, really great! And from what I can tell, it looks like the rest of 2016 AND 2017 will be rich with fantastic books, as well, which makes me kind of bubble up with a grand bookish joy. I WANT ALL THE FIVE STARS BOOKS, ‘KAY?

But for now, I will be talking about the grand favorites of this half of 2016. Sort of a prequel to last week’s TTT post.

17378527.jpg

THE RAVEN KING BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

Because of course.

23299512.jpg

THIS SAVAGE SONG BY VICTORIA SCHWAB

While I think I like A Darker Shade of Magic a liiiittttlllleeee more, This Savage Song was still pretty dang awesome. It had everything; morally gray characters, monsters, music, and delightfully snarky characters. Plus, August is an adorable soul-eating monster whom I adore. Very much. I need more August in my life, like, now. (I have to admit, though, I do like the UK cover of the book better).

24934065.jpg

REBEL OF THE SANDS BY ALWYN HAMILTON

This book wasn’t what I expected it to be, but it was still full of deserty magicy amazingness, and I can’t believe this was the author’s debut. Also, look at that cover. Is that cover not the most gorgeous cover ever?

20814993.jpg

HALF LOST BY SALLY GREEN

MY POOR ADORABLE TORTURED LITTLE ANTIHERO WHOM I ADORE. Nathan was put through the wringer in this book and I felt so bad for him. I wasn’t (and still aren’t) team Gabriel or team Annalise. I’m team save-Nathan-from-his-author.

25890355.jpg

PAPER AND FIRE BY RACHEL CAINE

I got an eGalley of this and GOSH THE PAPERY FIREYNESS OF THIS BOOK. Basically all the things about this book are booky awesomeness. Plus, look at the cover. I want to buy the book in a physical format because of that cover. (also, funny story, you might have seen my review of this book and the photo with the burned paper. I maaaaay have had to blow dry the paper after I burned it because I had to shove it in the sink because it burned WAY FASTER than I thought it would).

25582556

TITANS BY VICTORIA SCOTT

This book is fully of truly great things: best friends and loveable giant robot horses who could kill you if you lost control of them. Sure, it had a very Scorpio Races type vibe to it, and it wasn’t the bestly (is that a word? I don’t think so) written book in the world, but I really enjoyed it because it was a super light read without being fluffy contemporary romance. WE NEED MORE LIGHT NON-CONTEMPORARY READS. Sure, I like my blood and guts and fighting in my urban fantasy/paranormal/whatever novels, but LETS READ A SUMMER ADVENTURE NOVEL WITH TWO MERMAIDS OR SOMETHING, HMMM?

26074185.jpg

RUINED BY AMY TINTERA

Basically all the stabby characters and sarcasticness and snarkyness and also food. And the longer you look at the cover the more things you see in it.

17838528.jpg

THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING BY MORGAN MATSON

I had to practically fistfight someone to get an ARC at this at my bookclub (not really, but I may have accidently elbowed someone [sorry]), and it’s the cutest book ever. Also, now that I’ve read Since You’ve Been Gone, I realize how many Since You’ve Been Gone references are in this book. I mean, Emily and Dawn show up in it! And that’s basically the greatest thing ever.

26365537

KINDRED SPIRITS BY RAINBOW ROWELL

Sure, this may be more novella length than an actual novel, but it’s the cutest thing ever and it’s about Star Wars and nerdiness and the length nerds will go to show their love for something. Such as camping out for a week in the winter to watch the opening night showing of The Force Awakens. (Thanks to Kat for sending it to me! //waves wildly)

25430278

UP TO THIS POINTE BY JENNIFER LONGO

I actually only picked up this book because I recognized the cover art as being by Noelle Stevenson. But it turned out to be a rather fantastic book about ballet and finding your place in the world and Antarctica and penguins. Yep. AND it’s by a local author which just adds another little check mark next to the “reasons why this book is awesome” list.

So! Favorite books of 2016 so far? Do our lists share anything? DO YOU AGREE THAT WE NEED MORE LIGHT NON-CONTEMPORARY BOOKS?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Of The First Half of 2016 That I Ate Whole

  1. You’re very welcome for Kindred Spirits *waves wildly back* 😉 I totally put that book on my list as well! hahaha And I am currently reading The Unexpected Everything, so I bet it would be on my list as well, had this been the topic a week later or so.

    Like

    1. It was just the cutest thing ever and I loved it. I wish we could get a full-length novel with the characters, actually. Call it something along the lines of STAR FANS or whatever.

      Like

  2. I’ve heard a lot of good things to the raven cycle series. I’m currently reading book 1 and loving every word in it!

    Like

  3. Ruined has been one of my favorite books of the year so far too, so I am so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. 🙂 And I’ve heard nothing but great things about The Unexpected Everything and This Savage Song, so I’ll definitely have to give those a try too. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Like

    1. It is definetely going down in my “favorite epic fantasy books of ever” list. IT WAS JUST TOTALLY EPIC. And you should! I don’t think that This Savage Song comes out until July, but when it does, READ IT.

      Like

  4. Hehe, actually I’m 100% okay for everything to be dark and tragic.😂 YES I’M A LOVER OF FEEL STABBING BOOKS. OMG. (I’m sure I’m sane…ahem.) And I loooooved Rebel of the Sands too! not quite 5-stars for me, but I still adored it. 😀 And fo course I loved The Raven King, I mean that’s just a GIVEN. And ahhahhahha I loved This Savage Song! (Although honestly it didn’t have much plot?! Not that I minded too much ahha, but ADSOM was better in my opinion too *nods*)

    Like

    1. I BASICALLY NEED TRAITOR TO THE THRONE TOMORROW. But nooo, we have to wait, and THAT IS HORRIBLE. and whatever. I can forgive lack of plot as long as everything else is fantastic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

