Uncategorized · writing

The Rising Authors Tag

RisingAuthorTag.jpg

The fantastic Ellie @ On the other Side of Reality tagged me for the Rising Authors tag! And just in time for Camp NaNoWriMo, which means I am currently living and breathing plotting.

Yep.

Rules:

1. Write a post thanking the person who tagged you: include the tag, the 11 questions asked, your answers, and, in reply to the request for a small piece of prose or poetry, share a 150-word snippet.
2. At the end of the post, provide 11 new questions.
3. Request a brief 150-word snippet from the people you tagged.
4. Tag at least one person, and include a link to their blog.

The questions!

1. What is your favorite genre to write? Least favorite?

I love writing urban fantasy. It has none of the stressful crazy culture and world building of epic fantasy but still has those extremely funny fantasy elements like dragons and magic. My least favorite…probably contemporary. It just feels kind of boring to plot and to write.
2. Do you read the same genre you write?

Yep. For the most part. I read mostly urban fantasy, except I read a lot more sci-fi and epic fantasy than I write.
3. What are some of the most helpful pieces of writing advice you’ve heard?

Someone once told me to just let the plot do all the plotting. Which makes an odd sort of sense to me. And then there’s all the typical don’t edit as you write type stuff that everyone hears but still makes sense.
4. Do you write poetry?

Nope. I am lacking that particular skill. I’ve tried, but it has never ended well.
5. Have you ever written fanfiction?

Yes. And I’m just going to leave it at that.
6. Do you tend to have larger casts of characters or smaller ones?

Smaller ones. It feels more…personal to me. Like I can slip into their heads better when it’s a smaller cast. I also prefer reading books with smaller casts, so that could be part of it, too.
7. Would you ever write something in collaboration with another author?

Yeah! I love co-writing, it’s a great way to bounce ideas off of someone and have a story go a different way than you might have had it head. I think one day I’d like to cowrite an actual novel to publish with someone, instead of writing something for Wattpad.

8. What actors would you cast as the leads in your stories?

I actually have no idea. I don’t put a lot of thought into stuff like this. I don’t really picture my characters, exactly, they’re just kind of blurry blobs with hair and clothing. Possibly other somewhat smudgy features; eyes, noses, or something.
9. Do you enjoy world building?

Yes…to a point. I like to build off other societies, but if I sit down to build a brand new world from scratch, I start getting stressed out and it stops being fun.
10. Where do you find your writing inspiration?

All over the place. Pinterest, Tumblr, random articles I read, from talking to other writers, from pretty much everything. My brain saves and catalogs the weirdest things, and I can later use those random things in novels.
11. Do you have a specific system or method you use for editing?

Complain about editing. Procrastinate editing. Never edit.

And, my oh-so-fabulous questions:

1.Share three songs from one of your novel’s playlists.

2. Do you have any favorite names that you wish you could give to all your characters? If so, what are they?

3. Do you like writing romance? Why or why not?

4. Do you ever feel like your writing style is influenced by the last book you read? If you do, how so?

5. Have you ever done NaNoWriMo? If so, did you win, and did you like or dislike it?

6. Do you share your writing with your family/close friends?

7. What age range do you write for?

8. If you want to publish your novel, do you want to go the traditional route or self-publish?

9. How old were you when you started writing?

10. What are your favorite writing snacks/drinks?

11. What’s the title and names of the main character/s of your most current WIP?

ITag

Koral @ Purposeful Fish Hooks

Cait @ Paper Fury

So…what are your plans for Camp NaNoWriMo? Do you have a cabin yet? Because if not…Ellie and I are in a cabin, and we’re lonely…(hint, hint).

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “The Rising Authors Tag

    1. I think it also has something to do with the fact that I write so much fantasy stuff…I think if I only really wrote contemporary it wouldn’t feel so boring. But since I’m always writing stuff with DRAGONS and MAGIC and FAERIES and whatnot, it just feels boring.

      Like

Leave a Reply

