Ten Fictional Worlds I’d Want to Visit + Five I (Really) Wouldn’t

0001-11643949.png

It is summer, and so that means it is also vacation time. Both from school and from your normal everyday neck of the woods (or middle of the city). And I was having a conversation with my cousin about how this is the last year I’ll actually be able to do the normal thing of bouncing from my house to my various family member’s houses all summer (because it is fun and free), since college starts in September (!!!) and I’ll be attempting to get internships for summer 2017.

She asked me where I wanted to go. Naturally, I listed about three real places and then a long, long list of fictional places

(She was not amused)

But that got me thinking that my lovely internet friends would probably share my opinion that fictional travel destinations > real travel destinations. So yay! Blog post!

CAMP HALF BLOOD, LONG ISLAND SOUND, NEW YORK, USA

Admitedly, I’d be a pretty horrible demigod (probably the one that goes down in camp lore for stabbing and killing myself with my own sword before the monster even noticed I was there), but IT SOUNDS SO FUN. Mandatory capture the flag games??? Pegasus riding??? Sign me up!

(Also, proud resident of Cabin Six, here)

THE MOON, THE GALAXY OUTER SPACE, THE UNIVERSE

Preferably when it’s NOT ruled by Queen Levana anymore/overrun with bloodthirsty wolf mutants, or basically anytime before the final short story in Star’s Above. I would also prefer to not be flown over there by Thorne, because it would be horribly anticlimatic to die because Thorne accidently crashed the Rampion into the one of the domes.

THISBY, IRELAND (POSSIBLY), THE UNITED KINGDOM

I’d like to go in the summer, please and thank you, when I do not have to worry about being eaten by a freaking fish-horse simply because I was down on the beach. Let me ride one of the half capall and eat their pastries and figure out what time period the book is actually set in (my guess is the 1920s).

HOGSMEAD, SCOTLAND, THE UNITED KINGDOM

Mostly because of Honeydukes. Who am I kidding, entirely because of Honeydukes. I also kind of want to cuddle and owl because owls are adorable.

SMALL TOWN SEATTLE, WASHINGTON, THE UNITED STATES

I mean, as it says in the book, only the indie kids die. I would be the person just trying to survive high school while racking up an impressive amount of novel-inspiration material what with their zombie deer infestation.

WHEREVER THE HECK RED QUEEN IS SET, POSSIBLY THE UNITED STATES

I’ve been looking through the list of Silver powers and I’d totally want to be a Shadow. I’d become invisible and then go read in public without people asking me what I’m reading. I would also go and live somewhere that would not get absolutely flattened with the war, clearly.

WONDERLAND, WONDERLAND

All hail Red Queen Alyssa and whatnot. Now give me some of that not-still-alive food.

CHICAGO, ILLONOIS, THE UNITED STATES

Okay, yes, Divergent-land is a dystopia, but I could get behind the whole neatly organized thing. Minus all the dystopia parts of it, I’d be perfectly happy living in a society utterly committed to learning. Imagine their libraries.

SERENITY, OUTER SPACE

Okay, yes, this is from a TV show, and yes, Jayne would probably annoy the heck out of me within the first day, and yes, Reavers, and yes, they’re criminals, and yes, space travel makes me mildly queasy to even think about, but it would be an expearance.

THE TEMPTATION, THE OCEAN

First of all, dragons. Also magical time-traveling ship who can visit fictional worlds as long as they have a map to it. ANY FICTIONAL WORLD. ANY AT ALL. This is my number one pick, clearly.

TOTALLY DO NOT TAKE ME TO THESE FIVE PLACES, EVER

DISTRICT TWELVE, PANEM, FORMER UNITED STATES

Well, of course there’s still the whole Hunger Games thing, but say you survived your reaping, there’s the fear that your friends, your family, your children might be reaped, there’s the Peacekeepers, and the whole coal mining thing and yet possibly freezing to death in the middle of winter. No thanks.

RIFTHOLD, ADARLAN, ERILEA

Let me list off this city’s problems, shall I? Assassins, thieves, mercinaries, demons controlled by stone rocks, a horrible king, lots of generally bad things. Aelin can keep Rifthold to herself.

BEACON HILLS, CALIFORNIA, THE UNITED STATES

So, I guess I have kind of visited the set (I know people. I got to see the set and also fall down Scott’s stairs #graceful). But actual Beacon Hills? If you’re not apart of Scott’s pack you’ll most likely be mauled by a werewolf, eaten by a wendigo, or possibly killed when the school is blown apart for the ten millionth time. And never, ever visit the hospital. Ever.

WHEREVER THE HECK THERE WERE IN THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

ZOMBIES AND JUNKIES. STAY FAR, FAR AWAY.

WHEREVER THE HECK THE SPACESHIP IS IN ALIVE

Opening scene, Savage wakes up in a coffin. AND IT ONLY GETS WORSE.

Blogglings! What fictional worlds would you want to visit. What worlds would you not, WOULD NOT, want to visit? Do our lists share anything?

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

9 thoughts on “Ten Fictional Worlds I’d Want to Visit + Five I (Really) Wouldn’t

  1. Middle Earth is definitely my top want-to-visit world, along side Hogwarts and Narnia. As for the ones I’d least like to visit, it’s a tough pick between the world of 1984 and Thurmond camp in The Darkest Minds. Both seem really really bad.

    Like

  2. CAMP HALFBLOOD! YES! It would be so amazing if CHB was real. (And yeah for another Cabin Six member! 👊🏻) And, even though I absolutely love Katniss, Peeta, & co I would definitely not want to visit District 12 either. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

    1. High five! Athena Cabin for the win! And even if you could meet Katniss and Peeta and Gale and Prim and whoever else, I don’t think anyone would want to visit District Twelve. Like, ever.

      Like

Leave a Reply

