book haul · books · Uncategorized

July Book Haul

bookhauljuly16.jpg

I used to do monthly recaps at the end of every month, but then I started forgetting to do them, mostly because the only part I enjoyed writing was the book haul. So I have decided to start doing a book haul at the end of the month. Especially since I’ve basically given up on any sort of book buying ban because I’ve discovered all sorts of new bookstores.

Purchased Books

Ms Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson: I found this in a box at a used bookstore, and since it didn’t have a price on it, the person sold it to me for $5. Except for it being a bit warped (I think the previous owner got it a bit wet), it’s still in good condition.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: I found this at the same bookstore that I got No Normal. It’s clearly brand new, maybe read once, and I got it for $11. I’m happy about this, because I’m going to one of Sabaa Tahir’s signings, and now I can get both Torch and Embers signed.

The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno: Total impulse buy, and I LOVED it. It’s about internet friendships and road trips and anxiety and basically awesome. Plus, the cover is minimalistic and soft colors and super pretty and I now have it displayed on my bookshelf.

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh: Another impulse buy, because cavemen, but I sadly didn’t like it as much as I liked The Lost & Found.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness: I’ve already read this, but this cover is so. awesome. It looks plain white with the knife and then you move it and shiny words show up. I may have spent a good five minutes moving it back and forth trying to read the words.

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda: I didn’t know this was becoming a paperback, and I loved it, and I had a $10 off coupon so I got it.

ARCs

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. Razorbill: While I didn’t love Ember, I still really like Sabaa Tahir’s writing style, and from what I’ve heard, people are really liking Torch, so I have hopes for it. Like that Helene and Elias get together and Laia goes and does her own thing. August 30th.

The Reader by Traci Chee. Putnam: I don’t know a whole lot about this book, but it seems interesting, and it’s a fantasy novel about books and reading, so I’m excited to start it. September 13th.

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow. Delacorte Press: I actually thought this was a different book (I thought it was a fantasy for some reason?), but now I’ve actually figured out what it’s about and it seems like it’s going to be a heartbreaking book. September 6th.

The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron. Scholastic Press: This book seems so. interesting. And the cover is absolutely gorgeous. Plus, this ARC came with a little purple notebook, which was nice. I like it when ARCs come with fun things. September 13th.

Futhermore by Tahereh Mafi. Dutton Books for Young Readers: This is an Alice in Wonderland telling and it’s whimsical and nonsensical and so dang colorful and I kind of adored it even though I have no idea why. August 30th.

Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia. Disney-Hyperion: I’ve heard really mixed things about this one, but I’m still super excited to read it, because it’s about a writer trying to get published. August 2nd.

So, blogglings! What books have you recently acquired? Do you tend to more more used books or new books? Do you like it when ARCs come with fun things?

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

8 thoughts on “July Book Haul

  1. It’s funny that you got the knife of never letting go. I was at a bookstore looking for it and they only had the second and third books, both of which I already owned. Go figure. Simon vs the Homosapiens agenda was pretty good. Just like an ember in the ashes, I liked it but it wasn’t absolutely amazing. I’m looking forward to a torch against the night and the forgetting too. You had some really great luck with this haul!

    Like

  2. I loooove used books (HELLO BARGAINS!) but I honestly get more library books/ARCs than anything else.😂 That’s what makes up most of my book hauling these days *nods* And omg I am SO glad you loved The Lost and Found! It’s completely adorable and entirely under-rated I think. Also I’m with you on Ivory and Bone. *sad face* It was good but…kind of boring honestly??? Like there was no plot except for “find a wife” Dude needs to find a hobby more likely. Ahem.
    I’m super excited for The Reader, Furthermore and Entire Title Here too!! EEEEEP.

    Like

    1. I WANT ALL THE BARGAINS. And, honestly? There’s something much more satisfying about finding an awesome book in a used bookstore. And Ivory and Bone was kind of boring. Awesome cover, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

