books · Uncategorized

Top Ten Books I’d Buy RIGHT THIS MINUTE If Someone Offered to Buy Them For Me

5f295-toptentuesday

I think I’ve said before that people don’t really buy me books. Instead, they get me gift cards, which is the theme of this week’s TTT: Ten books you’d buy right this second if someone handed you a fully loaded gift card!

(I have, admittedly, done this before. I bought ten books using B&N gift cards and then carried had to carry them around downtown Seattle. [it was totally worth it]).

9780545790352_p0_v25_s1200x630.jpg

HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE ILLUSTRATED EDITION BY J.K. ROWLING AND ILLUSTRATED BY JIM KAY

Because look at it. It is freaking gorgeous and basically every time I run across it in the bookstore I have to stop and drool over it for a couple of minutes because it is so beautiful. But it’s also expensive (like twice the price of a normal hardcover), and so that always stops me from buying it. BUT IF SOMEONE ELSE WAS PAYING FOR ME (well, maybe not…if other people buy stuff for me I tend to go the absolute cheapest I can go because I don’t want to seem greedy). This would be the first book I reach for.

index

THIS SAVAGE SONG BY VICTORIA SCHWAB

I have an ARC of this book, but I want to own it in all it’s hardcover glory. Or, possibly, in the European version, which I actually kind of like better than the US version.

22840421.jpg

MY LADY JANE BY CYNTHIA HAND, BRODI ASHTON, AND JODI MEADOWS

I’ve heard that this book is hilarious and sarcastic and full of dry humor, plus the story of Lady Jane Grey is one of the few I actually remember from history class, because of how unfair it seemed to be (it was super unfair, just FYI).

21979832.jpg

THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE BY HEIDI HEILING

I read this only a couple of weeks ago and I fell in love with it and now I want a copy, especially before the next book comes out (which I think is called The Ship From Beyond Time. Possibly?). And I don’t think I’ve ever read a book set in Hawaii before (my homeland! [sorta]). And can I say how much I adore the name Nixie? I think it’s super cute. Even if in most legends, Nixies want to kill you.

This book also had a tiny sea dragon who eats pearls. So. Y’know.

24921954.jpg

THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR BY KATHARINE MCGEE

Purely because of the cover. And I’m not ashamed to admit that. For photography reasons.

22733729.jpg

THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET BY BECKY CHAMBERS

I want to read this for three reasons 1) too few woman actually get published writing adult sci-fi, so I want to support the author, 2) my cousin read it and told me he loved it and he likes nothing, and 3) it seems somewhat Firefly-ish.

26252859

THE HIDDEN ORACLE BY RICK RIORDAN

I HAVEN’T READ THIS YET AND IT IS AWFUL. It is mostly because every time I go into the bookstore intending the buy a book, I don’t go into the children’s section because it’s way against the back wall and the YA section is near the front, so I forget to go and look for this. But also because my library (which is huge), only bought twenty five copies. Twenty. five. copies. For a library that literally has over a hundred branches. And so the waiting list is through the roof.

27395444.jpg

HEIR TO THE SKY BY AMANDA SUN

I was really looking forward to reading this book…and then it came out, and I promptly forgot it even existed. But now that I remember I still really want to read it! And, it’s cover kind of reminds me of the cover of The Accident Season, which is helping it’s case somewhat because I adored The Accident Season.

23454794.jpg

WAX BY GINA DAMICO

This comes out today, and it has a pun on it’s cover. It’s also about wax figures who come to life and I think they might try to kill people? Also the main character is named Poppy and I love the name Poppy. It’s so cute.

9465049.jpg

PLAIN KATE BY ERIN BOW

I remember reading this when I was eleven or twelve, right when it came out, and being absolutely horrified but also kind of liking it? I want to see if I’d still like it, all these years later.

What’s on your list, blogglings? Has someone ever taken you into a bookstore and told you that you could choose any book you wanted (if so, I’m insanely jealous)

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Buy RIGHT THIS MINUTE If Someone Offered to Buy Them For Me

  1. Oh! All of these look so interesting. I’ll have to look into the ones I’ve never heard of. I do want to read This Savage Song so badly. I can’t find it though so. . . I might have to order it eventually. Great list!

    Like

    1. Yeah, it’s funny; most indie bookstores don’t seem to be carrying This Savage Song. I know the big chains are, because I see them there, but maybe because it’s somewhat of a weird book smaller bookstores aren’t carrying it so it doesn’t take up shelf space if for whatever reason it doesn’t sell.

      Like

Leave a Reply

