Futhermore by Tahereh Mafi || Color explosion

Futhermore.jpg

Title: Futhermore

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Links: Goodreads, Author Website

Synopsis: There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit–and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself–and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Once upon a time, a girl was born.

It was rather uneventful.

I have absolutely no idea how I feel about this book. No clue. I don’t know if I liked it or if I didn’t like it. It’s that kind of book. It’s a book that’s so strange, so unlike anything else, that you just don’t know.

-This book is an Alice in Wonderland retelling, which I didn’t know until I actually started the book.

-I don’t know if it’s MG or YA. The characters are both twelve, but the writing style seems more geared toward a YA audience. That could totally be an accident! I’ve heard it’s sometimes hard for an author to switch between writing MG and YA, and since Tahereh Mafi has only written YA, that could be the case here.

-This book is so vivid it’s like reading a movie. Which doesn’t make a lot of sense, but trust me.

The afternoon our story begins, the quiet parts of being alive were the busiest: wind unlocking windows; rainlight nudging curtains apart; grass tickling unsocked feet.

-And this book is so, so colorful. It practically bleeds color and life and curiosity. And the writing style very much fits the personality of Alice, who’s a girl very much full of life and curiosity.

-The cover is gorgeous. I want the cover as a poster so I can hang it on my wall.

-But the book is very odd. It’s probably the closest in writing style to the original Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonderland, but it’s just so odd. It’s whimsical and nonsensical and strange and basically unlike anything I’ve ever read, and I don’t know if I liked that or not.

Alice plucked a tulip from her pocket and bit off the top. She felt the petals pressing against her tongue; she could taste the velvet, the magenta of it. She closed her eyes and licked her lips before biting the stem. Not quite green but brighter, more vibrant; there was a song in that color and she could feel it singing inside of her. She bent down to greet a blade of grass and whispered hello, me too, me too, we’re still alive.

-It’s so beautifully written, too. It flows wonderfully, and you get sucked right into the story line.

-Alice is an adorable little MC. She’s sweet and curious and cheerful and naive. The kind of character you just want to sweep into your arms and protect from all the horrible things.

-Oliver I liked somewhat less. Something about him grated on my nerves. He had somewhat of a -I-kn0w-better-than-thou sort of air about him and seemed very condescending.

-But I really dunno how I feel about it. So I’m not going to give it a starred rating because I think any rating I would give it I would end up questioning.

-Also, I want a pet origami fox.

FURTHERMORE COMES OUT AUGUST 30TH. ALL QUOTES ARE FROM THE UNFINISHED EDITION SO THEY MAY CHANGE.

Have any of you blogglings read Furthermore yet? If so, how did you feel about it? Do those of you who haven’t want to read it? How do you feel about nonsensical, odd books? Do you like them or dislike them? Or do you not really know how you feel about them?

Also! I’ll be leaving for a camping trip tomorrow, and I’ll be gone until next Sunday. I’ll try to schedule as many posts as I can for the week, but I won’t be answering any comments. I promise I’m not ignoring you! I just won’t have my cellphone or laptop with me.

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Futhermore by Tahereh Mafi || Color explosion

  1. Err I haven’t read Futhermore yet but I really want to!I actually happen to love nonsensical and “odd” books so I feel like this one might be right up my alley. I’ve just been in a small reading slump lately..And also, I think this book isn’t out yet right? Anyway, I really liked your review and I hope you have a great camping trip! ❤

    – Rachana @ Spun

    Like

Leave a Reply

