books · Uncategorized

If You Like [Movie/TV Show] Read [Book]

0001-168288583.png

Sometimes, the only way to get a non bookworm to read a book is to compare it to a movie or TV show. And, yes, sometimes even we bookworms are drawn to books if someone tells us it’s like a movie/TV show.

And so, I have compiled a handy list of books you should read if you like certain movies and TV shows.

firefly-poster.jpg

If you like Firefly, then read Avalon by Mindee Arnett

17149396.jpg

Why:

A ragtag bunch of mercenaries who’s only home is the spacecraft. They don’t care about politics or the something as insubstantial as the law. Plus, I’ve heard several people say that Avalon reads like Firefly fanfiction, so there you go.

41C481HrQGL._AC_UL320_SR226,320_.jpg

If you like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, than read The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

51t8MOm-ZnL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Why:

Both take place in middle-of-nowhere towns that are overrun with the supernatural. However, while Buffy’s focus is on the chosen one, The Rest Of Us Just Live Here’s focus is on the extras, the blurry teenagers in the background who just want to survive highschool without another vampire attack.

izombie-posterrr.jpg

if you like iZOMBiE, than read Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

8041873

Why:

They have around the same sense of humor, and both are supernatural stories set in a Seattle. Also both deal with dead…or mostly dead things.

stranger-things-poster-trailer-pic.jpg

If you like Stranger Things then read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

miss-peregrines-home-peculiar_book-cover.jpg

Why:

It’s spooky and atmospheric, with not-quite superpowers and strange monsters and possibly parallel universes.

sherlock_series_tv_poster_by_marrakchi-d5bcpfa.jpg

If you like Sherlock, then read A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

study_in_charlotte.jpg

Why:

Both are modern day Sherlock retellings, which eccentric Sherlocks and somewhat exasperated but equally fascinated Watsons.

Frozen_-_Poster.jpg

If you liked Frozen, then read The Imposter Queen by Sarah Fine.

23495112.jpg

Why:

Ice and snow powers and queens. Like the always lovely Cait from Paper Fury says it’s like Frozen, but remade and violent and YA.

star-wars-force-awakens-official-poster.jpg

If you liked The Force Awakens then read Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder.jpg

Why:

Tough mechanics living in less-then-ideal circumstances, adorable androids, spaceships, and mysterious and somewhat science-y powers of persuasion.

So, blogglings, can you think of any epic book-and-movie combos? What are some of your favorite TV shows? And are you a binge-watcher or do you tend to watch them more slowly so they can sink in, so to speak?

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “If You Like [Movie/TV Show] Read [Book]

  1. Omg you just made me smile SO MUCH RIGHT THERE.😊😊😊 I’m glad you agree about the Frozen / Impostor Queen comparison. IT’S SO AWESOME. Ahem. #humble And I totally think it works. It would be awesome to actually find books for all the Disney movies, right?!? I think Rapunzel = Cress is a definitely obvious one.😂 And Aladdin = The Wrath and the Dawn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s