books · Uncategorized

Top Ten Books Set in Space

5f295-toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is Books with an X Setting, and so I have decided to do (drumroll please) Top Ten Books Set in Space!

I’ve been reading a lot of sci-fi lately. I know why that is. Normally, I’ve had been rewatching the previous series of Doctor Who in preparation for the next, but A) Series ten isn’t airing in December like normal, and B) Doctor Who was taken off of Netflix, which made me madder than it should’ve. And Torchwood is still on for some reason, but both Classic and Modern Doctor Who isn’t.

So I fumed for a while and then went and started searching for sci-fi.

Most YA sci-fi seems to be dystopian, which, okay, yeah, I like, but it’s not really what you think of when you hear sci-fi.

11.jpg

HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY BY DOUGLAS ADAMS

Total sci-fi classic right here. It was originally written and performed as a radio show, and then the writer of the show adapted it into a novel. It’s a weird little book, for sure, but super entertaining. Apparently it’s also a decent movie, but I haven’t seen it so I can’t speak for it.

21793182.jpg

STARFLIGHT BY MELISSA LANDER

Oh sci-fi book with a totally gorgeous cover. It gives off Guardians of the Galaxy vibes big time, and it was massively entertaining because all the banter. And character who hate each other!

13206900.jpg

WINTER BY MARISSA MEYER

This book takes place on the moon. THE MOON. And it’s all fabulous, clearly. Also, you may have heard the story where I went to the launch party of this book in a trench coat and everyone else was in formal wear. My friends love to bring this up every time I go to a book thing.

13138635

THESE BROKEN STARS BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND MEAGAN SPOONER

It sort of takes place in space. Some of it takes place in space. DON’T ARGUE WITH ME. IT HAS SPACE ON THE COVER.

23395680.jpg

ILLUMINAE BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND JAY KRISTOFF

THIS BOOK IS THE COOLEST. I mean, look at it. The only problem with it is that when you bring it out in public people keep trying to talk to you about it.

8235178

ACROSS THE UNIVERSE BY BETH REVIS

Okay, maybe this wasn’t the best written book in the universe (har har), but it’s set on a spaceship and the cover is beautiful. Although it’s already been changed, like, twice, and neither cover is as good as the first one.

17149396

AVALON BY MINDEE ARNETT

This book is very Firefly-ish. I’ve actually heard more than one person say it’s like Firefly fanfiction except published and not, and I know that’s a selling point for people, so…

13518102.jpg

SALVAGE BY ALEXANDRA DUNCAN

Yes, this book is somewhat of a slow read, but it’s also set in A) Space, and B) India, and it’s worldbuilding is A+

20821306.jpg

ZODIAC BY ROMINA RUSSEL

Yes this book relies heavily on cliches, yes this book has a love triangle, yes this book suffers from Special Snowflake disorder, but dang it, I enjoyed reading it.

index.jpg

RED RISING BY PIERCE BROWN

YES, I HAVE FINALLY READ IT. This book is violent and bloody and takes place on Mars.

So, blogglings, what are some of your favorite books set in space? Do our lists share anything? DID DOCTOR WHO BEING TAKEN OFF OF NETFLIX ANGER YOU, TOO?

Also, speaking of Marissa Meyer and launch parties, is anyone going to be at the Heartless launch in November? Because I’ll be there and I’d love to meet some more book bloggers.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Set in Space

  1. I absolutely loved These Broken Stars, Illuminae, Winter and Illuminae so I’m so glad to see them on your list. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Like

  2. I don’t read a lot of sci fi, but I love the ones you included that I’ve read (Starflight, Hitchhiker’s Guide, and Winter). My go-to sci fi recommendations are Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin, and Ender’s Game (but not if you’ve seen the movie, and not if you refuse to read works by scary racist people even if they content is not scary racist).

    Like

    1. I do keep hearing that Ender’s Game is good, but Olsen Scott Card is just…well…he’s said some pretty awful things, and I don’t want to support him. Same reason why I won’t read anything else by Cassandra Clare.

      Like

Leave a Reply

