book tag · books · Uncategorized

The Stranger Things Book Tag

strangerthings-booktag.png

I saw this over on Kat’s blog and thought it was super awesome so I stole it. What’s a thief version of a serial killer? Con artist, maybe? Or serial thief. Either way, I’m one of those around book tags. This tag was created by A Running Commentary.

Also, much like Kat, I find these graphics to be totally awesome but I don’t know who to credit them too. If you made them, come and yell at me (nicely, please), and I’ll happily add a link to your blog.

I, like much of the Netflix-watching world, have fallen madly in love with Stranger Things. It’s creepy and atmospheric and extremely well-written with totally awesome. Also Dustin is one of the cutest kids I have seen on TV. I believe most watchers of this show agree with me on this.

thevanishingof-willbyers.png

THE FIRST BOOK IN A SERIES THAT LEFT YOU INTRIGUED AND SLIGHTLY CONFUSED.

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow. Basically I finished this book and went uh…what? I liked it but I didn’t at the same time, and it’s such an interesting idea but I’m not sure I liked the way the idea was executed and it felt like pretty much nothing was explained but it was written by Erin Bow.

I recently got my hands on an ARC of The Swan Riders, though, and now I’m somewhat less confused. Still kind of, though.

theupside-down.png

A BOOK WITH A SETTING YOU’D NEVER WANT TO LIVE IN

I’m going to toss all the dystopian books out the window, because duh, I don’t want to be possibly forced to fight other kids to the death. Although, I could totally get behind the Divergent world way of doing things. Everything just seems very organized.

But I’m getting off track. So I’d probably say the Nevernever from The Iron Fey by Julie Kawaga. Because in all honestly, I’d probably take two steps into the Wyldwood, face plant into a pond, and be eaten by a kelpie. And that would kind of suck.

eleven-011.png

A BOOK YOU OWN THAT IS SOMEWHAT DAMAGED, BUT IS LOVED ANYWAYS.

The entire Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull. It’s one of my favorite MG series (if not my favorite!), and some of the books are so beat up they’re being held together by tape. This is mostly my brother’s fault.

mikelukas-anddustin.png

A TRILOGY YOU ALWAYS GO TO WHEN YOU NEED A PICK ME UP

Probably the Shiver series by Maggie Stiefvater. Because Sam and Grace are the absolute cutest and also werewolves.

the-demogorgon.png

A BOOK WITH A TERRIFYING BEAT YOU WOULDN’T WANT TO FACE IN A DARK ALLY.

I wouldn’t really want to face any of the monsters in This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. I mean, I’m safe from Sunai, but Corsai and Malchai? From what I can tell, they go after anyone and everyone. Mostly in dark allies.

Verity is not a safe place.

dr-brenner

A BOOK WITH A VILLAIN THAT IS BOTH MANIPULATIVE AND DEDICATED

(coughUmbridgecough)

I’m going to say Levana from The Lunar Chronicles, though. Man, I hated her. I hate her slightly less since reading Fairest, but she’s still awful.

nancy-wheeler.png

A BOOK YOU DIDN’T EXPECT TO LOVE

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I didn’t like the Grisha trilogy; I barely finished the first book, and DNFed the second, but Six of Crows, man…I want my ships to sail and my precious little baby thieves to be happy. IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK?

Also, is anyone else going to be at the Leigh Bardugo (and a couple other people, too) Fierce Reads tour stop in Seattle? Because I’ll be there, and I’d totally want to meet another book blogger!

hawkins-indiana.png

A BOOK WITH A SETTING THAT’S A LITTLE BIT STRANGE

Bone Gap, from Bone Gap by Laura Ruby. I mean, portals to other worlds in cornfields! That’s somewhat more than a “little” strange.

ITag

Ellie @ On the Other Side of Reality

and anyone who wants to do it because I’m too tired to go down the lists of blogs I follow right now.

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

 

2 thoughts on “The Stranger Things Book Tag

  1. OMG I HAVE SUCH APPRECIATION FOR ALL THE BOOKS HERE!! We have such similar reading tastes, Aine. (Aka: we have awesome reading tastes. :’) I looove Bone Gap, This Savage Song, Shiver, and I’m 1000% with you on The Scorpion Rules. Like it was cool?? BUT WHAT EVEN WAS GOING ON THERE?😂 I just won a copy so I’m going to re-read it before The Swan Riders comes out. Or is it out? Omg I have no idea. I’m endlessly behind on everything at the moment.
    ANYWAY. I have not seen Stranger Things because I never seem to be doing what everyone else is. Gah. But I so want to see it because it seems so so awesome and creeptastic, which is exactly my thing. :’)

    Like

    1. IT WAS COOL YET CONFUSING. But I think that describes all of Erin Bow’s books, honestly. I read Sorrow’s Knot recently and my reaction upon finishing it was “uh…what.”
      WATCH IT. When all the hype started building up around it I kind of rolled my eyes because I didn’t think it would be as good as people were saying…but yes. It is that good. Watch it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

