books

Top Ten Books Every Fan of Snarky Characters Must Read

5f295-toptentuesday

I’m taking a bit of creative license on this week’s TTT prompt, mostly because I kinda already did this week’s prompt last week. Sort of. If you squint at it.

Mostly I just want to talk about my favorite snarky characters because they are awesome and you can’t fight me on that.

index

RUINED BY AMY TINTERA

Em and Cas are both deadly sarcastic little beasts who you can’t help but love even though they could both totally kill you without even trying that hard.

yMX9bsXLAFgbRb8QwyhrxAcj.jpeg

MAGNUS CHASE AND THE SWORD OF SUMMER

There are times where I think, y’know, Rick Riordan should branch out a little bit, but then he gives us a book like this one and I’m firmly back on the Riordan train because is awesome and somewhat of a dork and so snarky. It’s amazing.

index.jpg

THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS

Celaena is a snarky assassin and is totally awesome. She and Em might get along, actually. Or they’d hate each other’s guts.

Also, I’m still kind of confused what the whole hoopla over the Empire of Storms thing is? Something about ships? Either way, it reminds me why I don’t really interact with other people in my fandoms online that much.

Dorothy_Must_Die_book_cover

DOROTHY MUST DIE BY DANIELLE PAIGE

Amy is roughly shoved into Oz, and is somewhat less then thrilled about this, and shows it quite snarkily. She also has a pet rat.

white-cat.jpg

WHITE CAT BY HOLLY BLACK

I originally didn’t read this series because I thought the first covers were awful. AND THEY WERE. But, in my defense, I also kind of got the feeling that there would be a cover change and I didn’t want to have mismatched copies of the series. And there was a cover change. So I read them. And adored them in all their con-artist snarkiness.

cinder

CINDER BY MARISSA MEYER

Cinder is a sarcastic little cyborg, and only gets more sarcastic in the later books because Thorne is there and she has the best comebacks to all the crazy things that come out of Thorne’s mouth.

18406862

SINNER BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

Because Isabel.

51Dzlut9r6L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

MAGONIA BY MARIA-DAHVANA HEADLY

Aza is one of those heriones that you hate yet love at the same time. In her snarkyness she can get mean, but she does really grow as a character throughout the novel, which is one of the most unique and weird things I’ve ever read. It has giant bats that are used as sails on ships. And birds in lungs.

1429820340604.jpg

CARRY ON BY RAINBOW ROWELL

Simon and Baz were perfect. My only complaint is that I wish we had seen more of their overall school life. I WANTED TO SEE BABY SIMON AND BAZ MOUTHING OFF AT EACH OTHER IN THAT AWKWARD PRETEEN WAY.

Cover_ravenboys_300.png

THE RAVEN BOYS BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

YOU THOUGHT YOU COULD GO THIS ENTIRE POST WITHOUT ME MENTIONING THEM? THINK AGAIN.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Every Fan of Snarky Characters Must Read

  1. I haven’t read Sinner, but is it a part of the Shiver series? Because I’m a huge fan of Maggie Stiefvater (you don’t even want to know how much I obsess over her) and LURVE the Raven Cycle (did you read the last book?!?!??!?!?!) but I hated Shiver. I felt like it was a mess of a book, and I just didn’t get any of the snarky, lovable, exquisite writing that I’ve read in her other series. Have you read The Scorpio Races? I mean, it’s a huge tearjerker, but it’s sooooo adorable and charming. HIGHLY agree with SJM’s books, especially the ACOTAR series, there is some serious snark from Lucien and Rhysand. *sigh* just saying their names is lovely, it’s like honey rolling off your tongue. OK, I’m going to stop ranting now, but I love love love this post! I have to make a list like this someday.

    MY TTT

    Like

    1. It is. It’s told from the POV of Cole and Isabel, though, so it has a very different feel than the rest of the series, so you might like this one if you didn’t like the rest of Shiver.

      AND YES. THE RAVEN KING KILLED ME. And The Scorpio Races is my favorite and I’m pretty sure will forever be my favorite Stiefvater book. It was the one that introduced me to her so it holds a special place in my heart.

      I keep hearing about Rhysand being epic, but I didn’t really like ACOMAF (totally an emotionally/mentally abusive relationship, plus Feyre felt like watered down Celaena), so I didn’t read it. Totally epic names though. I want SJM’s gift for naming.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YES. Magonia, Cinder, and Ruined were all such great books! So glad to see them on here. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Like

  3. Fun stuff! I just read Carry On a few weeks ago and adored it. Adding Magnolia, White Cat, and Ruined to my TBR after seeing this list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

