Recipe: Dillypops from Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

0001-43396863.png

There has been a change to my monthly recipe thing that I do. As you probably know, for the last four or so months, the first Friday I post a recipe relating to a book (this month’s was bread). But on Monday I’m starting school (which I’m in a state of panic about), and I have no idea what my schedule will be. I still want to post bookish recipes, though, and so you’ll just get them at random times of the month. I’ll still try to post at least one every month, but until I get the feeling for school (and my five thirty wake up), they’ll probably be pretty simple.

Like this one.

In the books, dillypops are described as tasting like grass and honey. I can do the honey thing. The grass…well, not without making it seem like you just went outside and licked your lawn, which isn’t that appetizing. So I had to improvise. And voilĂ , honey rosemary lollipops, a recipe of my own design.

1 cup honey

rosemary

And that’s all you need! Told you it was simple.

img_1090

You start with your cup of honey. Any honey, all honey, you can even use crystallized honey, if you’re fine with the recipe taking a little while longer while you wait for it to melt.

(You don’t know frustration until you’ve tried to get one cup of honey out of a squeeze bottle)

img_1092

Clip a candy thermometer to the side of a pot. Turn the burner on to a medium high heat, and wait.

img_1093

Cook the honey to three hundred degrees fahrenheit. Keep a close eye on it, though, because honey heats up very quickly, and you don’t want to end up burning it. Burnt honey = not delicious.

img_1095

Once the honey has reached three hundred degrees, remove from heat. Use a metal spoon to pour small circles about the size of a silver dollar onto a silpat.

img_1096

Working quickly, add pinches of rosemary to the top of each honey circle. Place a lollipop stick onto the top of each circle and twist so it’s covered in honey. You need to do this very quickly; the honey hardens fast.

img_1098

Carefully add a tiny bit of hot honey on top of the lollipop stick, just to make extra sure it doesn’t fall out. If you want, you can sprinkle more rosemary on top while it’s still hot.

img_1099

Wait for the lollipops to harden…about fifteen minutes. You’ll know they’re almost ready when you can easily peel them off the silpat without them bending.

img_1101

Store them at room temp. If you’re keeping them around for a while, you’ll want to wrap each of them separately in wax paper. Also; I wouldn’t recommend eating this straight unless you’re very fond of honey, but they’re great as stir sticks in tea, because the honey melts in the hot water. And if you can handle the sweetness, they’re great as cough drops, as well.

So tell me, blogglings…what bookish recipes do you want to see? Do you like honey? Have you read Furthermore yet? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, do you want too?

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Dillypops from Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I really want to read Furthermore (THAT COVER THOUGH) but just haven’t gotten to it yet. And ooh, your recipe looks totally fun. Although, haha, I’m allergic to honey. Ahem. So I probably will avoid avoid. But it’s super cute that they’re little lollipops!

    Like

    1. The cover is AMAZING. And I’m sad because my ARC doesn’t have any illustrations in it, and the finished copy has some really cute ones.

      I have a cousin who’s allergic to honey. It makes his tongue swell up. He still eats it, though, when he wants to, which I don’t really get. I’m allergic to jalapenos but I’m not going to eat them even when I really want to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

