The Totally Should’ve Book Tag

totallyshould'vebooktag.jpg

I took a break on my blog without telling you guys. Do you want to know why that is?

BECAUSE SCHOOL IS EXHAUSTING.

I thought they would go a little bit easy on us because it’s our first week, but if anything, we have more stuff to do because we have to learn how everything works while doing all the stuff we would do normally.

Anyways, I might do a blog post soon about it, so watch out for that if you’re curious, but today I’m doing….

THE TOTALLY SHOULD’VE BOOK TAG.

(Brought to you by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter [taken from Paper Fury and created by emmabooks])

NUMBER ONE: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE GOTTEN A SEQUAL

THE SCORPIO RACES. And I know Maggie Stiefvater said she’s considering plotting a Gabe-centric series, but that hasn’t been confirmed or anything, and I need more Thisby.

NUMBER TWO: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE GOTTEN A SPIN-OFF SERIES

I really want to read about the town from The Rest of Us Just Live Here and the blood-sucking ghosts that apparently Mike and Meredith and Jared and everyone’s parents dealt with. Because strange explode-y blue light and zombie deer can’t be the weirdest thing that has happened in that town.

NUMBER THREE: AN AUTHOR THAT TOTALLY SHOULD WRITE MORE BOOKS

I’m going to cheat a little bit on this one and say that I want to read more books by Becky Albertalli and Moira Fowley-Doyle equally badly. I’m frothing at the mouth to get my hands on both The Upside of Unrequited and The Spellbook of the Lost & Found, and after those books, which I’m sure will be amazing, they need to write more extremely quickly.

NUMBER FOUR: A CHARACTER THAT TOTALLY SHOULD’VE ENDED UP WITH SOMEONE ELSE

(Spoilers for the seventh Harry potter book this answer)

I was never a huge fan of HermioneXRon. He treated her pretty horribly throughout the years. Not that I think it should have been HarryXHermione (I like Harry and Ginny. I think they’re a good match), but I do think Hermione should have ended up with someone who actually really got her.

NUMBER FIVE: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE ENDED DIFFERENTLY

I think they should’ve left the epilogue off of Mockingjay. Both Katniss and Peeta are clearly not mentally healthy in any way, they’re both grieving, they’ve both just been through something extremely horrible, and the last chapter ended on a hopeful note but didn’t try to shove that into the background.

But then the epilogue went right into married and having kids, and I dunno. I feel like that kind of plays on the thing that a woman is only truly happy with a husband and children. And I’m sure that wasn’t Suzanne Collin’s intention, but it kind of felt that way.

NUMBER SIX: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE HAD A MOVIE FRANCHISE

THE LUNAR CHRONICLES. Please tell me why every YA contemporary is getting movie deals within months of them coming out (I mean, Everything Everything only came out last October!), but the Lunar Chronicles hasn’t? WE NEED IT, MOVIE PEOPLE. MAKE IT AWESOME.

NUMBER SEVEN: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE HAD ONLY ONE POINT OF VIEW

I didn’t really feel like Panic by Lauren Oliver needed Dodge’s POV. It would have been perfectly fine with just Heather’s.

NUMBER EIGHT: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE HAD A COVER CHANGE

The Vampire Academy books have already had a cover change, but the cover change went from totally awful to slightly less awful. They’re still not good. Basically they just slapped a tint and a big VA over the original covers and called it good.

NUMBER NINE: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE KEPT THE ORIGINAL COVERS

The Winner’s Curse series. The new paperback covers are awful, and the reasoning for the new covers is awful, and while I’m glad that they decided to keep the original covers for the hardback, the paperbacks now look awful. Basically everything is awful and they never should’ve been changed.

NUMBER TEN: TOTALLY SHOULD’VE STOPPED AT BOOK ONE

I honestly don’t really know. Because I can think of tons of books where I didn’t like the second or third book, but the first book wouldn’t work without them.

ITag

Ellie @ On the other Side of Reality

Mackenzie @ Smudged Thoughts

Kat @ Life and Other Disasters

and anyone who wants to do it!

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

 

6 thoughts on “The Totally Should’ve Book Tag

  1. The Hermione/Ron romance just makes me cringe. Ron treated her pretty poorly, so I don’t know why she chose to end up with him. *sigh*I also didn’t really like the Mockingjay epilogue it was kind of nice to see what happened, but I also feel like the book would’ve been fine without it. And yes, the Lunar Chronicles NEED a movie! It’s one of those series that if lots of little details aren’t included it could totally be messed up, but I still need it.

    Like

    1. I think because it was a neat, clean ending. It closed up loose ends with the Golden Trio without opening up another ten million.
      Maybe not a movie, then. Maybe a TV show? And by the people who did The Expanse.

      Like

  2. School really is exhausting, but I am sorry to tell you that work won’t get any less so :/
    Thanks for tagging me 😀 I already did this like back in March or so, but I am still glad you thought of me!

    Like

    1. I just need to get used to the early wake-up time, I think, then it will start feeling like less because I won’t be a zombie when I actually have to my homework.

      Plus, a good 50% of the vocab words are French, so that’s not helpful, either.

      Like

Leave a Reply

