Top Ten Villains That Everybody (And I Do Mean Everybody) Hates With Their Entire Being

5f295-toptentuesday

Blogglings! It is I, Aine, coming to you from my home, mildly sleep deprived, probably a little bit dehydrated, and just overall zombie-like. But I still blog, because you readers are clearly worth it.

(I missed you all)

You’ll be getting my school + life update in a few days (possibly tomorrow, possibly Thursday, depends on how tired I am when I finish this post), so I won’t talk too much about it.

I will, however, talk about one of the book blogging community’s favorite topics: villains!

(dun dun duuuun)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a villain-themed freebee, and not only does it tie into the season (the other day I walked into Target and was like “why the heck do they have all this Halloween stuff out??? and then I remembered that for most people, the last day of October means Halloween and prepare for it weeks in advance, like I do for NaNoWriMo).

It also kind of ties into a topic that I’ll be discussing in a later post (female villains!). And because it’s a freebee, I’m using villains from all over the geek-sphere, from books, movies, TV shows, and I’m throwing in a comic villain or two in here as well.

So here it is, the list of the most hated, the most despised, the wickedest and most unforgivable villains…of ever.

Dolores Umbridge (Harry Potter)

You’d be hard pressed to find a villain more universally hated than Dolores Umbridge. There was this Tumblr post floating around for a while that summed it up pretty well; Voldemort was, for most people, like hearing about a mass murderer on the news. Scary, sure, but not personal. Dolores Umbridge was personal.

Voldemort (Harry Potter)

Because he was also hated. Just not as much as Umbridge.

The Other Mother (Coraline, both movie and books)

My uncle cheerfully referred to this movie as the one that terrified both adults and children, before telling me and my cousin to go and watch it. We were equal parts fascinated and horrified.

It was the Other Mother’s fault.

Coraline, however, is a sweetheart that deserves to be protected at all costs.

Kilgrave (Jessica Jones, TV series)

I can’t speak to him in the comics, but the Kilgrave in the TV series is utterly despicable, and utterly terrifying. I will never watch Tennant’s run as the Tenth Doctor the same way again. I remember that a few days after I finished watching Jessica Jones a picture of David Tennant as the Doctor popped up and recoiled. It was a physical reaction; I actually flinched and leaned away in my chair.

Gerard Argent (Teen Wolf)

I wish I could tell you what my friend called this character after she finished watching the second season, but it’s not PG (or even PG-13), but I will tell you that when I told one of the writers of the show what she said and it caused to to start hysterically laughing.

It was not flattering.

Red Skull (Marvel Comics)

I don’t think there’s any other comic villain as despised as Red Skull. I mean, the Joker is despised to the point of being adored (or straight up adored), but Red Skull…everyone who has read a comic with him absolutely hates him.

Cruella de Vil (The 101 Damalmatians, book and movie)

I mean, she just wanted a coat made out of the skin of puppies. Is that too much to ask for?

Right up there with the most hated Disney villains, if not the most hated (she might be bumped out of her place by Scar, but since I didn’t watch The Lion King until I was sixteen and I hated Cruella as a kid…she gets to be on this list)

The Weeping Angels (Doctor Who)

Most Doctor Who fans have a love hate relationship with the Weeping Angels. Mostly hate, though.

Magnussen (Sherlock)

He is absolutely despised. He’s the Umbridge of the Harry Potter fandom. He treated Mary horribly, he treated John horribly, he treated Sherlock horribly…he’s just all around horrible. People love-hate Moriarty. People hate Magnussen.

Gabe (Percy Jackson)

There is no redeeming Gabe.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Villains That Everybody (And I Do Mean Everybody) Hates With Their Entire Being

  1. There shall be no redeeming of the Gabe. Or the Umbridge. But I don’t think anyone even considered redeeming Umbridge in the first place… In the Percy Jackson world redeeming villains is kinda a theme, but Gabe. There shall be no redeeming😂

    Like

  2. Ugh to all of these. *shudders* Although I confess Voldemort actually intrigues me a bit??? Like I want to know more about his psychology because all the backstory in bk 7 was INTRIGUING. (He’s still evil tho, not arguing.😂) And whyyy can’t I remember who Gabe is in Percy Jackson!? OMG. *goes to google* 😂
    UMBRIDGE IS JUST…NO. THERE IS NOTHING AS BAD AS THAT PINK POT OF EVIL.

    Like

    1. Intriguing and likeable are two different things.Umbridge was intriguing, too, but we all hated her guts. I’M TOTALLY GOING TO START REFERING TO UMBRIDGE AS A PINK DOT OF EVIL, FYI

      Like

  3. You’re the first person who’s mentioned Gabe and I COMPLETELY AGREE. He was the absolute worst. *shudders* And Umbridge was absolutely infuriating, and Voldemort was so complex. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices!

    Like

    1. Really??? That’s super surprising, because everyone hated him.

      They were both complex, and I remember liking that JK Rowling showed that there are good people and bad people on both sides (“the world isn’t split into good people and death eaters”).

      Like

  4. The Other Mother’s probably the scariest villain I ever came across; she’s scarier than Voldemort. Thanks to her, now I dislike dolls with button eyes. (Shudder)

    Like

    1. SHE IS. And it’s funny, but I remember reading a Neil Gaiman interview about how children read Coraline as an adventure and adults as a horror and I think that’s SO TRUE. It scared me way more as a sixteen year old than it did as an eleven year old.

      Like

Leave a Reply

