books

Halloween Costumes Inspired by Book Characters

0001--4336003.png

This post was actually inspired by a friend of mine (a real life friend! Someone from off the internet! [totally crazy, I know]). She was complaining about the lack of costumes for characters from books, and the ones we do have are the movie-fied versions, and cost eight million dollars.

And, honestly? Sometimes with Halloween costumes you don’t even know where to start, especially if you don’t have photos to go by. And so here is this handy dandy list (written by an exhausted person who might ramble a little bit), to help you out.

Cather Avery: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Cath is probably the easiest costume on this list, but probably also the one that you’d need to explain to the most people, because you won’t look like you’re wearing a costume. You’ll just look like someone out on Halloween not in a costume. But you’ll be comfortable and you’ll know you’re dressed up. Also, it’s a costume you can totally wear all year ’round.

Glasses | Cardigan | Skinny jeans | Red Converse | Fandom tee-shirt (or this one) | Ponytail.

Kaz: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

If you want to go out in character and frustrate people, this is the character to do it as. Kaz is kind of an asshole, but he’s a lovable asshole.

Leather Gloves | Red Waistcoat | Black coat | White collared shirt | Tie | Slacks | Boots | Crow-headed cane

Karou: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

This one’s super awesome because it’s a distinct look and you still get to be warm.

Leather jacket | Black shirt (or this shirt) | Blue wig | Blue hamsas on palms | Truth written on left wrist in blue, Story written in right wrist in blue | Wishbone necklace

Morpheus: Splintered by A. G. Howard

If you can speak in a cockney accent this is pretty much the costume you HAVE to wear. Even if you can’t, you should. Because Morpheus is awesome.

Purple wig | Black suitcoat | Slacks | Top hat with fake bugs glued on it | Netherling markings

Cinder: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I actually saw a Cinder costume last year! It was epic, and we fangirled together for a couple of minutes before our friend groups forced us apart because we were making them wait.

They don’t understand how exciting it is to meet someone else you likes the same books you do.

Cargo pants | Ratty sweatshirt | Ponytail | Metal left arm | Grease smudges on face | Messenger bag |

Coraline: Coraline by Neil Gaimen

This is one of the few instances where I liked the movie as much as the book, and the movie absolutely horrified me, as did the book, and I enjoyed every second of it. Plus, Coraline’s an absolute sweetheart.

Blue sweater with silver stars | Blue hair | Dragonfly hairclip | Yellow raincoat | Yellow rainboots | black jeans |

Celaena Sardothien: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Every year I hope I see a Celaena, and every year I don’t. It’s actually kind of surprising, since these books are so insanely popular. But maybe since it’s kind of an expensive costume to pull together people don’t do it?

Leather Jacket | Ripped black shirt | leather pants | boots | Purple hooded cape | Two swords | long blonde wig |

August: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

My sweet little socially anxious soul-eating monster whom I adore.

Although, you might get a lot of people trying to talk to you about Doctor Who and The Silence. Not that that’s a bad thing, but it might not be what you’re aiming for.

Jeans | White button up shirt | tally marks on arms | violin case

Cara: The Accident Season by Moira-Fowley Doyle

If you go as this, you’d be going in a costume as a character in a costume, which would be super fun to explain to people in the most complicated way possibly. Because what else is Halloween  for but confusing people with the complexity of your costumes?

Silver dress | Black tights | Silver converse or doc martins | Gauzy butterfly wings | silver masquerade mask

Nimona: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

You could win by adoration forever by completing this costume with a shark head.

Pink dress over furry brown sweater | Brown boots | Brown belt | pink wig |

Here you go, blogglings; ten bookish costumes for bookish people. Yep.

(I’m sorry. I’m really tired)

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

 

7 thoughts on “Halloween Costumes Inspired by Book Characters

  1. Ooh! I was initially going to dress up as either a pirate or a mime, but now I’m wondering if I could dress up like Cress instead!!! (Or I could probably dress up like Cinder, but Cress is my favorite!!!!!)

    Now all I need is a Thorne….

    But seriously, this is an amazing post!!! I absolutely love how you did this!!

    Like

  2. OMG I LOVE THIS POST SO MUCH! ❤ Such creative ideas. I'm definitely going to use one of these as my costume. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

    1. If you do, send a picture! I love seeing people’s bookish costumes. Which is kind of annoying for my friends on Halloween because one minute I’ll be next to them and then the next I’ll be over talking with someone dressed like Percy Jackson.

      Like

  3. I love all these ideas! Last year I did a simple Celaena Sardothien costume, but it wasn’t much of a costume (aka it was super last minute and I had NO ideas). This year i’m going as Tim Burton’s Corpse Bride which I’m SO excited about! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

