Aerie by Maria Dahvana Headley || ALL THE PRETTY COVERS

Aerie.jpg

Title: Aerie

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley

Genre: Magical Realism/Urban Fantasy

Series: Yes. Book 2 of 2.

Links: Goodreads, author website

Synopsis: Where is home when you were born in the stars?

Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend Jason is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She’s living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you’ve spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world.

As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground.

When Jason’s paranoia over Aza’s safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently-escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, The Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever.

In this stunning sequel to the critically acclaimed Magonia, one girl must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes—and two versions of herself.

Magonia was one of my favorite books of 2015. Aerie was one of my most anticipated books of 2016.

And…I didn’t like it as much as Magonia.

Magonia was fierce and funny and unique and weird and wonderful. And the writing style…ug, it was beautiful. Still beautiful. Maria Dahvana Headley’s writing style is #goals. Seriously. I want it.

And because I adored Magonia and also I don’t want to start this review off with complaining, I’m going to start with the Things I Liked:

-Did I mention her writing style????

-Aza has chilled out a bit with her boarding-on-mean sarcasm, and now is just sarcastic. But she’s still as much of a wonderful character as she’s ever been.

-BRING ON THE EPIC SECONDARY CHARACTERS. Hayward is epic, Eli is epic, everyone is epic.

-All the new creatures. And the adventures! This was a very fast paced book, and with those sometimes the whole worldbuiling can kind of became second, but the worldbuilding…amazing. If slightly confusing.

-I’m pretty sure there was an Abyss reference thrown in there, which I appreciate.

-I love, love, love that both Magonia and Aerie start and end with the exact same sentences. With Magonia it was “I breathe in, I breathe out”, and with Aerie it’s “I listen to singing. Everything, everywhere.”

-THOSE. COVERS. I mean, I want them as posters.

What I Didn’t Like:

-It felt like Jason had lost what had made him so amazing in the first book. He frustrated (and angered) me the entire book, and while I can’t say too much without spoilers, I can say that he’s entirely too controlling about Aza, and did some pretty creepy things, even if he was just trying to keep her safe.

-Worldbuilding was amazing, but at the same time…it felt like it kind of backtracked and said “you know that thing that was made clear in the first book? Yeah, that’s not really how it works.”

-And, honestly? It kind of feels like Magonia would have been perfectly fine as a standalone. It ended solidly, and while there were still a few loose ends, it would have been fine.

Still, though, I very much liked Aerie. I didn’t love it, but I liked it. If you liked the first book, you’ll probably like this one. If you didn’t like the first one, you still might like this one because it does have a very different feeling to it.
FourStars
Happy Friday,
BlogSiggie
2 thoughts on “Aerie by Maria Dahvana Headley || ALL THE PRETTY COVERS

  1. It’s always disappointing when a sequel is good, but just not quite as good as its predecessor. I’m glad you still enjoyed this though, even if it wasn’t quite as good as Magonia. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

