Uncategorized · writing

NaNoWriMo 2016 Prep: Bullet Journaling

NaNoWriMo_2016_WebBanner_Participant.png

So, I’ve been talking a lot the past couple of weeks about how I’m practicipating in NaNoWriMo for the third year in a row, and I’ve been talking a lot about my novel, but I haven’t talked a whole lot about NaNo prep.

Which is why I’ve decided that every Monday until NaNoWriMo, I’ll be posting about some part of my prep process.

Most of you know that I’m a die-hard pantser; I don’t outline, and I don’t really write ideas down. Everything lives in my head until I’ve got it down on paper (or laptop screen). But that’s come back to bite me in the butt the last few projects I’ve attempted. I get to around 10k, and I’ve used up all my good ideas and I suddenly can’t continue because I have nowhere to go.

This year I’ve decided to go about things a little bit differently. I’m still not writing a strict outline, but I have decided to do more prep work than buying a couple of boxes of coffee crisps off of Amazon.

I was recently caught up in the bullet journaling trend. Mostly I use it to track what schoolwork I need to do and the last time I washed my chef coats, but I’ve decided to put it into use for NaNoWriMo.

img_1187

Page one: My word count tracker. The page has been separated into thirty separate boxes, each labeled with the date, how many words I wrote that day, and my total word count. Super simple, but super helpful.

img_1188

This page is really the main one, where I have all the basic information. Total word count, to be filled in at the end of the month, word count goal (60k), writing program I’m using (Scrivener), writing partners, critique partners, major plot points, characters, and up in the right corner, the title, my screen name, and because I had extra space, the third year I’ve done NaNo.

img_1189

And this will mostly be used during November, but it’s for any ideas I might have, just so I don’t forget them.

So, tell me blogglings, are you doing NaNoWriMo? What are you doing to prep for it, if anything?

Happy Monday,BlogSiggie

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 Prep: Bullet Journaling

  1. Ooh! This is such a good idea!! I’ve really wanted to get into the bullet journaling thing, but I can’t seem to find a journal without lines… I’m hoping to create a bullet journal soon, though!

    As for my prep, right now I’m trying to create an outline for the first half/middle of mt story…. Turns out that plotting the ending and sequel isn’t very productive… 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

