Top Ten Scary Books To Read For Halloween

5f295-toptentuesday

Thanks to  childhood trauma (including but not limited to a Darth Maul mask), I’ve never much enjoyed Halloween. I liked the idea of it, sure…the dressing up and going door to door to get candy, but I was terrified of any sort of costume that covered someone’s face (Darth Vader. Those Scream masks. Clowns. Sports Mascots. Literally anything). This meant for years I was unable to leave the house on Halloween, and I would get what I know realize what were panic attacks, in which I would get so dizzy I felt like I was about to pass out. Now those oh-so-lovely panic attacks are triggered by other things, but for a long time it was about Halloween costumes.

So, Aine, you ask, what changed? How come you can handle Halloween now? First, it depends on how you define “handle”. Can I go out on Halloween night without almost passing out from fear? Yes. Do I still feel vaguely unsettled all Halloween? Yes. Will I willingly seek out scary stuff…haunted houses, exeedingly creepy costumes, Party City during October? HECK NO.

But, again, I can actually leave the house on Halloween now, and I have a theory as to why that is. When I was fourteen, I started watching more “adult” TV shows and movie. Doctor Who. Jurassic Park. And Teen Wolf. And anyone who’s watched Teen Wolf knows it can get pretty creepy, especially in later seasons. And, honestly? Any store bought costume can’t compare to CGI-improved Hollywood-grade costumes. The Kanima horrified me, the Dark Druid horrified me, The Oni horrified me, but that Halloween I was able to go out and go trick or treating for the first time since I was super little.

So. Horror movies and TV shows make Halloween funner!

But this long thing is my way of opening this week’s TTT, which is a Halloween-themed freebee. I’m going for my Top Ten Scary Books.

20757532.jpg

SHUTTER BY COURTNEY ALAMEDA

I believe I’ve talked about the epicness of this cover before. But the real reason I appiciated this book was all the references sneaked in. X-Files, mostly, but I caught one or two Doctor Who and Supernatural ones as well. And I’m sure there are more Supernatural ones, because the ones I picked out are the ones I know of from Tumblr since I don’t watch the show.

17061.jpg

CORALINE BY NEIL GAIMAN

I’ve heard the movie described as The Movie That Terrified Children And Adults Alike, which I think is pretty accurate. The book is pretty creepy, too. I quite enjoyed it.

19364719.jpg

SLASHER GIRLS & MONSTER BOYS, EDITED BY APRIL GENEVIEVE TUCHOLKE

While only one or two of these stories actually creeped me out, a few more turned by stomach and it’s pretty solid as an anthology.

The_Coldest_Girl_in_Coldtown_cover.jpeg

THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN BY HOLLY BLACK

While these book isn’t exactly scary, per say, it’s pretty gorey and would be a very good Halloween read. I mean, a town full of vampires! Actual, bloody, non-sparkling vampires who will eat you quite happily!

51hjygzf42l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

ASYLUM BY MADELEINE ROUX

I honestly think that part of the reason why this book creeped me out is because you know that the things described in this book actually happened to real people. Asylums weren’t nice places, and horrible things happened in them.

12810834.jpg

172 HOURS ON THE MOON BY JOHAN HARSTAD

This books is decently creepy, if you can ignore the medicore writing. But I’m pretty sure this book was originally written in Russian, so maybe something was lost in translation.

12291438.jpg

THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER BY MEGAN SHEPHERD

I didn’t like this book, but at the same time it creeped me out? I dunno. I’m weird.

index.jpg

WELCOME TO THE DARK HOUSE BY LAURIE FARIA STOLARZ

I can’t even remember when I read this book, but I remember it left me feeling pretty unsettled.

764347.jpg

UNWIND BY NEAL SHUSTERMAN

I’m not quite sure if this scared me because if it was truly scary, or if I wasn’t scared but it caused my stomach to churn.

41ocj6lEP0L._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS BY M. R. CAREY

IF YOU WANT TO READ A ZOMBIE NOVEL THIS HALLOWEEN, READ THIS ONE.

Thank me later.

Blogglings! What’s on your Halloween to-read, this? What are you going to do for Halloween? What are your favorite horror novels?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Scary Books To Read For Halloween

  1. YES TO ALL OF THESE. I absolutely loved The Madman’s Daughter, Unwind and The Girl With All the Gifts and definitely agree that they are perfect to read around Halloween. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Like

    1. I felt “eh” about The Madman’s Daughter, but I adored Unwind and The Girl With all the Gifts, even though I’m mad that they might not be releasing the movie in the US.

      Like

Leave a Reply

