Uncategorized

Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My Eternally Growing TBR

5f295-toptentuesday

My TBR has been growing at an absurd rate ever since I started blogging. I mean, it was always decent sized, like 20 books or so, but now…it’s huge. It’s insane. Partly on Goodreads, partly on notes on my phone, partly physical…I think probably over a thousand books total.

And, this week’s TTT is all about that lovely. ever-growing TBR! And so, I kick off Top Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately!

28220892

VASSA IN THE NIGHT BY SARAH PORTER

Everyone seems to have loved this book, and if I understand it right, it’s historical urban fantasy about a girl who lives in Brooklyn but Brooklyn also has magic? I don’t really know, I just know it’s supposedly very weird and very excellent.

28003097.jpg

GEORGIA PEACHES AND OTHER FORBIDDEN FRUIT BY JAYE ROBIN BROWN

I keep hearing that this is a lot like Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, which was amazing, and I loved it, so if this is as good it’ll be fantastic. Of course, you can never really trust comparisons, but I’ll give it a try.

26222109.jpg

THE CRESSWELL PLOT BY ELIZA WASS

I vaguely remember bloggers getting this book shipped to them in boxes of dirt, but other than that I didn’t really pay that much attention to it. But apparently it’s super good and I should read it, according to a friend of mine.

25988934.jpg

THE MEMORY BOOK BY LARA AVERY

I actually know what this one is about, but I honestly can’t remember. BUT I WANT TO READ IT.

25502639.jpg

HEIR TO THE SKY BY AMANDA SUN

As far as I know, people haven’t LOVED this one, but come on. SKY KINGDOM. It sounds awesome and I don’t think I’ve ever read stuff about sky kingdoms before so this shall be my first.

28220826.jpg

WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS BY ANNA-MARIE MCLEMORE

I didn’t love The Weight of Feathers…I found it somewhat lacking in plot, but the writing was absolutely gorgeous, and I’m sure this one will be the same.

In terms of the gorgeous writing, not the lacking plot.

17669243._UY1536_SS1536_.jpg

THIEF OF LIES BY BRENDA DRAKE

HOW DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS EARLIER? It’s a book set in a freaking library, but I only heard about it for the first time a couple of days ago. I can even ignore what is clearly going to be instalove, judging by the synopsis, because library.

Also, on a side note, does anyone think that the girl on the cover looks like Emma Watson?

21897920.jpg

DEAD GIRLS SOCIETY

The title is bugging me, a little bit, because it seems like it should be Dead Girl’s Society, but whatever. The idea behind the novel seems cool.

28903984.jpg

THE STEEP & THORNY WAY BY CAT WINTERS

This book is set in my backyard (well, Oregon, so the same part of the country, AKA the Pacific Northwest), plus ghosts. And while I tend not to really love historical fiction, this seems cool and a lot of people really like it.

27969081.jpg

LABYRINTH LOST BY ZORAIDA CORDOVA

People seem to love this, it’s urban fantasy, has an awesome cover, and I think I might have a kindle edition of it that I forgot about. I’m sold.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

11 thoughts on “Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My Eternally Growing TBR

  1. After reading Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older and realizing that I enjoy urban fantasy, I added Labyrinth Lost to my TBR as well. I’ve seen the Vassa book on a few lists now, so I’m going to go check it out. My TTT if you’re interested.

    Like

  2. I’ve been hesitant about Georgia Peaches – I’ve heard that, despite being a pro-LGBTQ+ novel, it has some really homophobic undertones, and characters portrayed as being pro-LGBTQ+ actually encourage some homophobic philosophies. I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts!
    Some books I’ve recently added to my TBR are Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor, Behemoth by Scott Westerfield, and Sandry’s Book by Tamora Pierce.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Like

    1. Really? I hope it’s not, because that would be super disapointing. I always hate when that happens, because it kind of feels like a kick in the stomach.

      Like

  3. My copy of Labyrinth Lost just arrived today.😍😍 I’M SO EXCITED. And I loooved Vassa in the Night! It’s bizarre but that’s like Russian folklore at it’s finest hehe. And I 100% agree that Emma Watson has sneaked onto that book cover. It totally looks like her. I want to read that one too BECAUSE LIBRARIES. I feel like if anyone writes a book about books then it’s an automatic win because hello, we are all bookworms here. 😂

    Like

    1. No one else seems to agree with me about the Emma Watson thing??? They all thing she looks like the girl in Pretty Little Liars, which I haven’t read or watched, so maybe she does and I just totally don’t know it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

