I Promise I’m Not a Serial Killer, I Just Need To Know [Blank] || Weird Things Writers Research in the Name of Accuracy || Part One

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

We are now entering the third week of NaNoWriMo…and I am horribly, awfully behind, debating changing to another novel, trying to figure out if it would be better to just muscle through with the first, and basically stressing out for all three of these reasons.

Also, thanks to recent world news, I’m not feeling the safest, either, so that doesn’t have the greatest effect on my writing, either.

I had, however, continued on the lovely NaNoWriMo tradition of researching crazy, totally out-there things. I can now tell you that most witches weren’t burned, they were hanged, and why exactly medieval witches/herbalists used caldrons (it was the only shape of pot that they could confirm everything was stirred together properly.)

So, I’ve enlisted some fellow Wrimos, via a post on the forums, asking them what the weirdest thing they ever researched in the name of writing was.

I, predictably, got some pretty weird answers. I also got a massive amount of replies, so I’m going to be splitting this post into two; one today, and possibly the next one Friday or Thursday.

(I promise I’m not a car thief, I just need to know how to hotwire a car).

I once put a pillow case over my head to see the logistics of fitting a corpse inside them. I had to get someone to put a second case over my legs. – SeanCookie

11 thoughts on “I Promise I’m Not a Serial Killer, I Just Need To Know [Blank] || Weird Things Writers Research in the Name of Accuracy || Part One

  1. Loved this post!
    I’ve just recently finished writing a novel with a thief/con artist as the main character. I constantly asked my boyfriend bizarre questions and googled things like – what it feels like to get shot, how to hot wire a car, and how long someone would get in jail for these certain crimes 🙂

    Like

  2. Haha love this! I’ve never really had to research anything weird. I think murder mystery/thriller writers are the ones who need to worry about their Google history most haha. My NaNo novel is going OK but I am a couple of days behind. I didn’t plan enough!

    Like

  3. OMG THIS IS BRILLIANT AND I’M LAUGHING.😂 Some of these are actually super interesting and ver vital to the writers’ life. *nods* I research wounds all the time, like what it feels like to be stabbed and healing time and all that. I’ve researched medieval torture and woah that’s nasty. *shudders* Most of my research isn’t TOO incriminating though, which is probably a relief if anyone decides to go through my search history.😂

    Like

    1. I’m sure my family would be massively horrified if they ever went through my history, thanks to some research on serial killers and their methods I did. I quit on that when I found a picture of one of the victims. :/

      Like

Leave a Reply

