book review · Uncategorized

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater | WE SURVIVED THE FEELS SOMEHOW

IMG_1184.JPG

Title: The Raven King

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: Urban fantasy/magical realism

Links: Goodreads, author website

Synopsis:Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

This came out in April and I still haven’t written a review for it. It’s deplorable. It’s inexcusable. It’s inconceivable.

And I actually got it earlier than the release date because my local Barnes & Noble messed up and put it out like a week earlier than it was supposed to be out, which apparently happened all over the place, because I remember people getting mad because of spoilers.

BUT, MY REVIEW WILL HAVE NO SPOILERS, SO HA HA.

(Even though this book came out in April and I think I could probably put spoilers because there are plenty of spoiler-free reviews out there).

Anyways, it’s December. Almost the end of December. High time to review it.

The first time I read this book I flew through it so fast that I couldn’t remember anything that happened in it. I KNOW, I’M HORRIBLE. So I had to go through it and read it more slowly and actually absorb what I read in it, and, whaddayaknow, I loved it (it is Maggie Stiefvater, after all). While it’s not my favorite book in the series (that honor goes to the utterly perfect Dream Thieves), it was still a pretty dang awesome book.

Why was it awesome? Let me list the ways.

  • THE SHIPS. OH, OUR SHIPS. The shippy fangirl side of my heart died. (and, yes, maybe the sarcastic, April Ludgate-esque side of my heart did, too. A little bit).
  • The stakes where high, the tension skyrocketed, and you just sit at the edge of your seat the entire time. I think my eyes were blurred I was trying to read it so fast.
  • Our adored, amazing, totally developed characters managed to develop even more. They made horrible choices and risked their lives and basically have reached peak character-ness. These characters feel human, like they’re living and breathing and out there, somewhere, and those are the very best type of characters.
  • And, like every Maggie Stiefvater book I’ve ever reviewed, I need to just point and flail at her writing style. Because it is gorgeous and so unique, and it was as crisp and dry and perfect as ever in TRK.

And, yes, while I adored 99.9% of the book, I do have a couple of small problems with it.

  • I felt like the ending was kind of rushed, which was disappointing. And the grand reveal was kind of a let-down. I found myself staring at the book and internally going “really?”, which is sad, because I wanted to be amazed by it.
  • There’s a sad lack of Noah in this book. He’s in it, just not as much as in previous books and I missed him.

But, honestly? Its overall amazingness outweighs its faults by a lot, and I’m quite satisfied that this was the way that the series wrapped up. (And, even though it was a great ending to the series, Maggie Stiefvater had better give us that Ronan trilogy soon).

FiveStars

So! Who else puts off reviewing books for months? Have you guys gotten around to reading TRK yet? If so, how did you feel about it? Do you agree or disagree with my review?

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

Leave a Reply

