Beautiful Books | 2017 Writing Goals

beautifulpeople

Blogglings, I had an awful writing year. Truly awful. Like, I shouldn’t even be calling myself a writer because I did pretty much NO WRITING. But, do I take that as a sign that I should hold off on the writing for this year, set more manageable goals? NOOOO. I’m all, LET’S MAKE IT BIGGER.

It’s also somewhat about my NaNo novel, which barely even got worked on.

I’m linking up with Cait and Sky for Beautiful People so I can tell you all about my lofty writing goals for 2017.

What were your writing achievements last year?

Couple of short stories, about 1/8 of a novel, and pretty much nothing else. 

What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

Besides actually write a decent amount? I want to outline at least three ideas, and write at least one, edit if I’m really feeling generous. 

Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

I want to continue with Witches Black & Silver, which was what was supposed to be my NaNoWriMo novel but I actually didn’t end up working that much on.

I’ve got Red Dawn, which is my awful placeholder title for my werewolf dog fight novel, and The Sea, The Sun, The Stars, which is my Robin Hood retelling but with pirates that’s kind of morphed into a not-Robin Hood retelling but still with pirates as I’ve plotted.

How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

I want to get better about not using words like “felt” “very” “really”, and filler words like “quite” and “like”. And I hope by the end of 2017 I’m not using the words quite so much.

Describe your general editing process.

Editing? Haha, I don’t understand this word. 

On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

I’m going to say like a 3. I liked what I did write, but I didn’t write very much of it.

What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

The actual finishing part.

What do you like the most about your draft?

I adore my characters. I think these are the best characters I’ve ever come up with, and they’re all so different. Sometimes I worry that I give all my characters the exact same personality but it’s not so with this novel and I’m both grateful and relieved. 

What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

Let’s say I did actually finish this, and have edited it, I think I’d get my critique partner to read it, edit it again, get beta readers, edit, then query it. Possibly after more editing.

What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

Don’t instantly launch back into the novel. If you’ve just spent all your time writing this novel, the last thing you want to do is instantly edit it, because you’ll get tired of it fast, and that’s not what you want. You want to stay excited about this novel throughout the entire process, because if you’re not excited about it, you’re not going to want to write it. 

How was your writing year, you guys? Did you get lots of writing done, or did you have a not so great writing year like me? Did you do NaNoWriMo? If so, how’d you do? Did you win or no? What was your novel about? Tell me all.

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

19 thoughts on “Beautiful Books | 2017 Writing Goals

  1. Great post! I always get so excited when I see posts about people talking about their writing. XD Good luck with all your goals! Witches Black and Silver sounds super interesting ❤ All of your ideas sound really good. I've been working on the same novel since NaNo, so I'm hoping to finish that before summer and start working on something else. 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s super interesting, isn’t it? I love to know what other people are writing about!
      Good luck with your novel! May you finish it easily and swiftly. 🙂

      Like

  2. You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself, I felt like such a big failure for not participating in last year’s November NaNoWriMo, the reason being I was just too tired and emotionally wiped-out from self-publishing my first Ebook, I felt as though I should been able to keep going, but I couldn’t and that’s okay. Writer’s need to take care of themselves and it’s also okay to work on other projects, it doesn’t make you less of a writer. Keep hanging in there, you’ll figure out the right balance eventually 🙂

    Like

    1. Congradulations on publishing an ebook! That’s a big deal.
      And I know, I just have such high expectations for myself, writing-wise, even when I have no time at all. I need to lower my expectations dirasticly.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My writing year hasn’t been too bad… I don’t think?? I mean, I wrote about 3/4 of my NaNo book, wrote a short story, and wrote about 3/4 of a different book before giving up on it… (And I just now realized had I put my time and energy into finishing that draft, I would have a completed draft right now??? [fail])

    I LOVE your to-do list! I usually don’t outline anything until I’m ready to write it, and that just does not work out very well, as you can probably imagine. But outlining ideas and then writing one? That would be awesome… Plus, I’m really digging the outlining stage lately, even though I’m some sort of weird mutation of pantser and planner (#plantersunite)

    And I can totally agree with the loving of the characters! My book’s characters are my absolute favorites that I’ve ever written! Maybe this last year was the year of the characters???

    Like

    1. Well, 3/4 of a novel is still super good.
      And I’m the same with you about outlining. I tend to wait to outline until I just CAN’T WAIT to start writing it, and so I only outline like a chapter before I actually start the novel, which, y’know, causes problems.

      Maybe it was! And maybe 2017 will be year of the plot?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True! I shall be happy with my 3/4 writing babies… But I’d love if they turned into complete fledglings, ready to be beaten and bruised by the hatchet of editing and failure.

        That was actually a very disturbing visual, and I’m going to pretend like I never wrote that. (Yet I still apparently sent this comment instead of deleting it, so that makes absolutely no sense…)

        And ugh. Yes, totally! I do the exact same thing! So many problems, so many plot-holes, so many moments of “What…what happens now?”

        Oh, I hope so!! That would be marvelous! Each year is a new addition to our writing tricks!

        Like

      2. Pfft, that’s no so bad. In a recent post I wrote something about my bookshelf vomiting and when I went back and skimmed it after I posted it I kind of cringed.
        PLEASE LET IT BE. I need to write a decent plot.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with your goals! I say you failed at all in 2016, writing-wise. You wrote a short story! You wrote 1/8 of a novel! You have ideas for more! You’re doing great. You’re writing. So many people only ever say they’ll write, and never even put pen to paper. You have. That’s awesome. Go you.

    Like

  5. Questions about editing always scare me a little bit — I don’t feel like I’m qualified to answer them because I’ve never really edited/revised a complete (creative writing/novel) draft. I have, however, edited and revised openings… outlines… chapters… blog posts… essays… etc. I think I may have even revised a short story once. I look forward to doing so, but at the same time… can I really weigh in?

    These ramblings brought to you by the indecisiveness of doing or not doing Beautiful Books this month xD

    Like

    1. I know, right? I think the most I’ve edited is like, one chapter, then I’m all NOPE, NOT DOING IT RIGHT NOW and just never end up doing it.

      You should still do Beautiful Books, anyways!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

