books · Uncategorized

Ten Books I’ve (Almost) Missed the Bus For

Ten Books I've.png

I should preface this by saying I do not like running. One bit. I tried jogging sometime last year, but by the end of the second week of me dragging myself out of the house for times a week, I was done. I cast aside my running shoes with a dirty look and swore I’d never jog again.

So why do a couple of times a month I find myself either A) sprinting across campus, or B), sprinting across the street to get to another bus stop before the bus has the time to turn the corner?

Easy. Books. I’ve even done this in snow boots, which is not to be encouraged, and I’m sure I looked like I had just been hit by a car when I got on my bus because I had slipped and face planted into one of the gross slushy brown not-quite-snow-anymore patches.

I’m clearly very dignified, thank you very much.

And, yes, I could stop this from happening by not reading in the library until like five minutes before my bus is supposed to come or by actually paying attention to what time it is when I get to my bus stop, but I’m going to say it again. Books. I’m not going to be one of those awkward people on the bus who has nothing to do so they just stare at people and make everyone uncomfortable. And besides, I typically get home and have other stuff to do, and thanks to my wonderful wake-up time (five. A. M.), I’m typically in totally out by nine.

So, really, a twenty minute bus ride every day, plus the half an hour or so after class gets out but before the bus comes in my best reading time.

And so, I thought I’d share the books that caused me to (//shudder) run to catch my bus.

I also thank them for showing me I’d totally not survive in a fantasy novel.  I’d probably take two steps and fall into a pond and be eaten by a kelpie (and don’t say I wouldn’t. I’ve fallen into ponds before.)

And without further ado…the list!

49f5f3cd-d73a-4adc-b6e9-cb40275305fb-jpg-_cb300381115_

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

This book has the coolest idea and the greatest characters plus all the pretty maps.

18054071.jpg

Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson

I totally should have known not to read this before I got on the bus, knowing how much I liked the first one, but I couldn’t help it. But, the next day I left it at home so it wouldn’t happen again and my dog ate it. And it was a library book. I have pictures to prove it.

26864835.jpg

Blood For Blood by Ryan Graudin

Again, totally should have known because of how much I loved the first.

51tRyQb45eL.jpg

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

This book was all-around fantastic (It gave me some Code Name Verity vibes), plus, I kind of ship Love and Death?

22299763

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I feel like I’m showing a clear pattern here. Loved the first, read the second while waiting for bus, almost missed the bus.

the-first-time-she-drowned

The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter

This was the one responsible for me falling into the slush-muck. But I forgave it. Mostly.

26409580.jpg

The Swan Riders by Erin Bow

Yes, this is a sequel, but I actually liked it waaay more than I did the first, so it was a pleasant surprise.

29105145.jpg

Iron to Iron by Ryan Graudin

This is kind of cheating, because while I didn’t almost miss my bus with this one, I did almost not get off at my stop, which would have been a problem because I have no idea what the next stop is after mine.

23603597.jpg

How It Feels To Fly By Kathryn Holmes

This is another almost didn’t get off my bus book.

30320053 (1).jpg

Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas

This is the most recent book that caused this to happen, and the one that sparked this post. Meaning on Friday I had to sprint across campus because I looked at my phone and my bus came in a little under two minutes. Did I make the bus? Yes? Did I look elegant doing it? NOPE.

So, blogglings, have you ever almost missed your bus because you were reading a book? What about almost not getting off your bus? Please tell me that this is a common problem because it’s happened to me so many times it’s starting to get ridiculous.

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

6 thoughts on “Ten Books I’ve (Almost) Missed the Bus For

  1. I usually listen to audiobooks on the bus, so I haven’t, but I almost missed a doctor’s appointment because of Wolf by Wolf. And thank you, by the way, for this post, because I’m about to read Blood for Blood and I am much more hopeful that it will live up to the gloriousness of Wolf by Wolf. Also, I’m currently reading Walk on Earth a Stranger, and I’m also more excited about that, so thanks!

    Like

  2. My downfall is getting ready in the morning. I try to keep to a strict “nonfiction only at breakfast” rule so I don’t wind up nearly late to work. The first time I listened to a book in the car (this is about 20 years ago, so it was a book on tape) I missed my exit by about 30 miles! Whoops!

    The face plant imagery was delightful. This coming from someone who 1) broke their nose by falling over while walking into school in first grade, 2) got a concussion in September by falling backwards down the stairs for no particular reason and 3) just twisted their ankle trying to take one measly walk in the snow. In other words, I am no stranger to lack of grace!

    Like

    1. I just have to have a “no reading before school” rule in the morning or I’d always be late.
      Me, either. I’ve fallen into ponds, injured myself every single time I’ve gone ice skating, fallen out of trees, tripped on thin air…the list goes on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

