books · Uncategorized

Top Ten Graphic Novels You Should TOTALLY Read

5f295-toptentuesday

This week’s TTT is all about art; that is to say, graphic novels, comics, and picture books. I’m going with graphic novels, because I feel like they’re super underappriciated in YA.

My own graphic novel collection is sadly small; for one, they tend to be more expensive than regular paperbacks, and also, the selection isn’t that big. I do tend to read a lot of graphic novels, but most of them are intended for adults. That doesn’t mean that teenagers don’t or can’t read them, but they don’t feature teenagers, which is what YA is; about teenagers.

And, as much as he might act like one sometimes, Hawkeye is not a teenager.

 51lgrm5dxol-_sx321_bo1204203200_-1

Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson

I’ve shrieked about my complete and utter love for Ms. Marvel many times, but I believe I have not shrieked about it enough so I shall SAY IT AGAIN. MS. MARVEL IS AMAZING AND YOU SHOULD TOTALLY READ ABOUT HER.

51nih6cc-pl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

I’ve talked a lot about my love of Nimona, too, but not as much as with Ms. Marvel. Nimona was originally a pretty popular webcomic turned graphic novel, and after seeing Moana, every time I see the name “Nimona”, I think of that one song.

Nimona, make waaay make waaay,

Nimona it’s time you knew, the village of Motunui is allll you ne-ed.

I’m sorry if I just got that stuck in your head.

91n3yeWL7CL.jpg

The Nameless City by Faith Erin Hicks

I’m actually kind of surprised this book hasn’t gotten more publicity, because it seems like the kind of book people would really like; diverse, interesting, with great art and cool characters. But I’m literally the only person I know who’s read it.

download-8

The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi

This one more skirts the edge of MG, but it’s one of my first graphic novels I’ve ever read, and it still has a special place in my heart.

download (9).jpg

Lumberjanes by Stevenson, Ellis, Watters, & Allen

Again, skirts the edge between MG and YA, but leans a bit more toward YA. Super weird, super fun, extremely feminist (all! Female! Cast!), and just all-around amazing.

download (11).jpg

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Because it’s The Graveyard Book in graphic novel format. The art is amazing, the writing is (clearly) amazing, everything is amazing so read it.

download-13

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur by Reeder, Montclare, & Bustos

Lunella is amazing. She’s nine, and she’s officially the smartest character in the Marvel universe. Smarter than Iron Man, Dr. Strange, Beast, Black Panther…and she’s nine.

51J37sdX7qL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs

If you didn’t love the book, maybe consider trying the graphic novel. It’s condensed, so it doesn’t have the same, somewhat slow feeling that the book does, but the artwork is the coolest.

download (14).jpg

Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan

While the writer for this is more well known for his other graphic novel series, Saga (which I have not read), he also does a pretty good job on this one (which I have read).

download-15

Legend: The Graphic Novel by Marie Lu

This is another one that if you had some problems with the slower areas of the book, to try the graphic novel, which is condensed with awesome artwork.

So, blogglings, what are your favorite graphic novels? Any of the ones on my list? Should I read Saga, or does it not stand up to the hype?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Graphic Novels You Should TOTALLY Read

  1. Ms. Marvel is absolutely the best! When I started getting into comics it was just fortunate that her first volume was the very first I read and it’s still my favorite! I’ve been getting into Captain Marvel, too, now. And how did I not know that The Graveyard Book was also a graphic novel??? I need to get my hands on that now!

    Like

  2. Yaaay, Ms. Marvel and Lumberjanes!!! And of course I love Nimona, but it just wasn’t on my list today. I feel like I heard a lot about Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur a while ago, but I never felt like I just needed to pick it up. Maybe I do! 🙂

    Like

    1. It was a huge deal when it was released (last January, I think?) but then people kind of forgot about it, then it was a huge deal again when the announcement was made about Lunella being the smartest character in the Marvel universe, then kind of died down again. But either way, you should read it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

