January & February Wrap-Up | Because I Need To Start Doing These Again

amandajoaquim

I haven’t done a wrap-up in FOREVER, and it’s somewhat embarrassing because not only to I like writing them, I like reading them, which means other people like reading, and yet I keep just NOT DOING WRAP-UPS.

Honestly, I just keep forgetting to do them.

So, I’ve decided I’ll start doing them bimonthly, and maybe there’s less of a chance of me forgetting to do them, plus they get to be longer. And longer is better in terms of wrap-ups!

I’ve used the words wrap-up too many times now. Sorry.

ireadstuff.png

I forgot to actually keep track of what I read these last two months, so these probably aren’t even all the books, only a small portion of the books, BUT I CAN’T REMEMBER, OOOPS.

29939230.jpg2329951232075671 (1).jpg30320053 (2).jpg

A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab: Because it is VE Schwab, and because everything she touches is pure gold, this book naturally gets ALL THE STARS. (5/5 stars)

This Savage Song (Reread) by Victoria Schwab: Just as good as the first time I read it. (5/5 stars)

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas: Doesn’t quite stand up the hype, but the hype was absolutely massive, and one thing’s for certain; this is an important book. (5/5 stars)

Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas: Great idea, not-as-great execution. (3/5 stars)

28458598 (2).jpg31019571 (1).jpg29739361.jpg28818314 (2).jpg

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon: Amazing cute. Some problems, but still…amazingly cute. (4/5 stars)

10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac: Great portrayal of anxiety,  but somewhat lacking complex characters. (3/5 stars)

Traitor To The Throne by Alwyn Hamilton: Still love the worldbuillding, sadly lacking in sass. (3/5 stars)

Roseblood by A.G.Howard: All the creep of Splintered, with none of the delightful weirdness of Wonderland. Still good. (4/5 stars)

download (19).jpg30117284.jpg511wrlN9ohL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg27883214 (1).jpg

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman: I put this book down and realized that I totally and utterly adored it, just as everyone said I would. (5/5 stars)

Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth: This book has…issues. And not just the super obvious ones, either. (2/5 stars)

When We Collided by Emery Lord: Honestly, I really hate how bipolar is protrayed in this book. (2/5 stars)

Caraval by Stephanie Garber: It’s a fine book, but it doesn’t stand up to the hype surrounding it. (3/5 stars)

iwritestuff.png

Honestly, there’s not too much to put in this category, so I’m going to separate this into my three main ideas for this year: The Skeleton Queen, Lifeblood, and Untitled Space Opera. I’m going to add the link-slash-scroll box thing below each project so you can view my story boards.

The Skeleton Queen:

  • Status: Outlined
  • Current Word Count: 0
  • Word Count Goal: 60k

Lifeblood:

  • Status: Partially outlined
  • Current Word Count: 0
  • Word Count Goal: 60k

Untitled Space Opera:

  • Status: Mildly plotted.
  • Current Word Count: 0
  • Word Count Goal: 75k

iblogstuff.png

I didn’t do as much posting these past couple of months as I might like, but I still did a decent amount.

Top Posts:

My top posts for January were Top Ten Underrated Books You Should Totally Read, followed by YA vs. Adult Lit, and the So-Called Superiority of Genres, and my top posts for February were Top Ten YA Book Tropes That Need To Die, followed by Beautiful People: In Which I Introduce You To Rose & Sabine.

My favorite post that I wrote in January was Amazing Shelfies That Will Make You Want To Rearrange Your Shelves (Again), and my favorite in February was Unhealthy YA Relationships.

Weird Searches That Led People To My Blog:

“Semalt Expert”

“Typewriter repair”

“Is fan fiction real writing” (yes)

“How to fix typewriter”

“Typewriter key stuck how to fix”

“free books”

theinternetdoesstuff.png

There has been a lot of…let’s say drama around the various bookish communities lately, but I’m going to try and focus on the good stuff, because what with is going around in the real world lately, we all need a bit more good stuff in our lives.

Eventually, this section will have a piece on some of the things other bloggers are doing, but I’ve been horrible keeping track of that, so this is all there is.

But! It’s been a good couple of months for me, and how has it been for you, blogglings? What books have you read so far in 2017? Any of the same ones? Are you excited for Renegades? Do you ever get weird search terms leading to your blog?

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

10 thoughts on “January & February Wrap-Up | Because I Need To Start Doing These Again

  1. I’m slowly making my way through ACOL and loving it! I finally read This Savage Song, and it was absolutely fantastic! 😍 The Hate U Give and Long May She Reign are on my TBR!

    Like

  2. You read so many books I still want to read but OMG, I am just so happy you liked This Savage Song as much as you did the first time! NO ONE DARE SAY ANYTHING ABOUT MY BABY AUGUST WHEN I AM NEAR!
    And yay for all the plotting and outlining! I am terrible at that, I just … write? And then I end up with a gazillion plotholes, but what can you do? The people on wattpad don’t mind so far hahaha

    Like

    1. AUGUST IS AN ADORABLE SOUL-EATING SWEETHEART OF A MONSTER AND I TOTALLY ADORE HIM.
      I actually am, too, which is why I haven’t actually really…written anything yet. I have drawn a map of planets, but I have not yet decided on a plot. It’s troubling.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay that you’ve had a good month!! And omg I’m so excited for the Simon Vs movie. AND WASN’T ACOL JUST THE MOST PERFECT CREATION EVER?!? I’M STILL FLAILING MY HEAD OFF OVER IT. 😍😍Also we’re like absolutely twinning on SO many books you’ve listed here! I felt the same way about Radio Silence, Long May She Reign, Traitor To the Throne, Roseblood, this Savage Song, and The Hate U Give. Seriously. Like same ratings and everything. 😂 And I pretty much hated When We Collided except for Jonah’s cooking (which, tbh, was amazing). I’m trying to lower my expectations for Caraval though, haha, since like I’ve read about 5 recap posts tonight and EVERYONE said it was disappointing.😂

    Hope you have a nice March!

    Like

    1. IT. WAS. AMAZING. Total greatest thing ever. VE Schwab had better go down in history as being able to write some of the best series endings EVER because gosh IT WAS SO AWESOME.
      I had the same problems with Caraval that I did with The Star-Touched Queen…beautiful writing, yes, but somewhat lacking on everything else.

      Like

  4. It looks like you had a great reading month! A fair few 5 star books in there! I know what you mean about caraval, I did enjoy it but all the amazing reviews made me so excited for it and it just didn’t live up to my expectations in the end.

    Like

    1. It was a fine book. Wasn’t super great or memorable, but I don’t regret reading it or anything. It just wasn’t the super fantastic Big Thing everyone seemed to say it would be.

      Like

  5. I just stumbled across your blog and I absolutely love all your posts and reviews omg.
    V.E. Schwab is one of my favorite authors, and I’m currently making my way through A Conjuring of Light. I’m trying to read slowly so that I can soak everything in but it’s just so fantastic ahhh. ❤
    I completely agree with you about Caraval! I hardly liked it at all and am still soooo confused by all the hype it has gotten, and continues to get.

    I can't wait to read more from your blog, + I hope you have a lovely March!! ^-^

    Like

    1. Ooh, thank you!! ❤
      She's amazing, isn't she? I'm trying to see if I can find a copy of The Near Witch anywhere because I think it's the only book of hers that I haven't read.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

