Uncategorized · writing

Beautiful People | March | Welcome Back Rose

beautifulpeople

I am currently in the middle of trying to decide what to write for Camp NaNoWriMo, which is somewhat difficult because instead of deciding between two ideas like I orginally planned, I’m deciding between three. And I’ll do a post about that later (you can help me decide. BECAUSE I CAN’T).

Anyways, Beautiful People is cohosted by Cait and Sky, and it’s about writing characters and all that fun stuff.

Anyways, Rose Marvel is queen of a small, France-inspired fantasy kingdom. She’s also a necromancer (she spent her childhood reanimating the mice the housekeeper caught in traps), but on the day of her father’s funeral she reanimates the entire graveyard. Que three century’s worth of skeletons suddenly up and running in the middle of a funeral pretty much the entire kingdom is at. Rose panics. The kingdom panics. There is mass chaos.

beautifulpeople

What’s their favourite book/movie/play/etc.?

She tells people that it’s this book of poetry by an extremely respected poet, because that’s what the queen should like, but really she’s a fan of these super weird fantasy (or what’s considered fantasy for a fantasy world) novels set in kingdoms below the sea. Think Dougless Adams type of thing. 

Is there anything they regret doing?

Does reanimating the graveyard count? If not, Rose regrets fleeing her father’s funeral with the rest of the kingdom, instead of staying and trying to fix it. In her mind, if she fixed it, none of these problems would be happening, the kingdom would trust her again, and she wouldn’t have threats of war from three of the five bordering kingdoms. Of course, that’s no true, but she’s in denial. 

If they were sick or wounded, who would take care of them and how?

Later in the novel, it would be Sabine. But before the novel starts, it would be her head maid, Cecille. Cecille was her nanny when Rose was a baby, and Rose grew up knowing and trusting and loving her, and Cecille loves her, too. 

Is there an object they can’t bear to part with and why?

Rose has a small, stuffed elephant that was given to her by her mother, who left when Rose was two. Rose has very conflicted feelings about it; on one hand, she’s angry at her mother because her mother has never contacted her, but on the other hand, it’s still something her mother gave her, and she has an strange attachment to it. 

What are 5 ways to win their heart (or friendship)?

1) Expressing fondness for the following items: chocolate, meringues, Soupe a L’oignon, Paris-Brest, profiteroles, Saint Honore, or Aligot. Make any of these for her and she’ll love you forever. She’s very food orientated. 

2) Asking her on a date- to drink coffee and read books. 

3) Expressing genuine fondness for her cat, Basil. Not just the somewhat disinterested “oh your cat is cute/pretty/sweet”

4) By letting her do her thing. Basically, letting her introvert somewhere alone. 

5) By liking her favorite books. Because, like I said, her favorite books are not what most people would consider books that a princess/queen should enjoy.

Describe a typical outfit for them from top to bottom.

She wears thin wire glasses, small gold stud earrings, and often keeps her hair either loose or in up in a bun. She wears dresses-knee length ones, often embroidered, typically in a natural color; brown, red, black. She wears black tights, and either boots or flats if she’s just walking around the castle. If she’s leaving, she wears what we would consider vintage-style heels. 

What’s their favorite type of weather?

She adores storms. Not the dangerous to be outside in kind, but the kind with heavy rain and wind and wild energy, when everything smells wet and the wind carries just a hint of thunder. That’s her favorite kind of weather, and she can never resist going outside in it. 

What’s the worst fight they’ve ever been in?

Her biggest fight happens in the novel and also spoilers, so before this, when she was thirteen, a visiting daughter of a dignitary made some comment about how Rose might be higher ranked than her, but at least this girl’s mother didn’t abandon her. Rose punched her, and by the end of the fight, Rose had torn her tights and sprained her wrist from falling on it, and the other girl had a bloody nose and a ripped dress.

What names or nicknames have they been called throughout their life?

Her father called her Rosie or Ros (Roz), and Cecille calls her “little royal”. Her mother, when she was a baby, called her Loba, or Mi Loba, or Mi Pequeño Loba, which translates to wolf, my wolf, or my little wolf. She called Rose this because of Rose’s cleverness.

What makes their heart feel alive?

Like I said before, the stormy-not-quite-STORMY days, the castle at night, Sabine.

So blogglings, what are you writing? Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? If so, what are you doing for it? Have you ever done it before?

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People | March | Welcome Back Rose

    1. Yeah-think the barest edges of new exciting technology-the first cars, steamships, that kind of think. Like 1910-20ish, except in a fantasy world.

      Like

  1. I know how difficult it is to decide between ideas, especially since you’ve outlined or plotted all three ideas. From what I could read here, Rose definitely has me interested 🙂 I like her maid, Cecille, she sounds so motherly. And I totally get the denial thing.
    I am not taking part in Camp NaNo this year, I feel like NaNo works better for me when I have a completely new idea, but I am working on Arcadia nonetheless. I want to publish more chapters on wattpad, but without a deadline.

    Like

  2. I tried to comment a few days ago but wordpress ate my comment 😦 trying through my google account now. I LOVE this! I love that she has her ‘official’ favourite book, when secretly she really likes something regarded as unsuitable. But most of all I think I love young Rose reanimating the dead mice from the household traps….and then the spectacular mishap of the ‘ooops I accidentally brought an entire graveyard to life’ episode…. Do you have any more?

    Like

    1. Yeah, WordPress has been eating comments lately. I keep finding totally non-spam comments in the spam folder. And thank you! I’m glad you like it. I’ll be posting more about it in a later post.

      Like

  3. Wow! This novel definitely sounds like something I would love, and Rose sounds like an amazing character. Plus, she’s a necromancer?! Heck yeah (though, poor baby, I’m sure that will get her in trouble).

    I love that you said she enjoys reading super weird fantasy books, even though she’s in a fantasy book. Brilliant! Does Rose comment on them throughout the novel?

    If you’re interested, here’s my Beautiful People post: http://musingswithoutfocus.blogspot.com/2017/03/beautiful-people-march-edition.html

    Anyway, best of luck to you!

    Like

    1. I’ve always found it interesting that novels in fantasy books tend to be romances. I’ve always been curious what would be considered a fantasy novel in a, well, fantasy novel, so I knew I wanted to touch on that in this novel!

      Like

Leave a Reply

