Carry On by Rainbow Rowell |A book from a book from a book

CarryOn

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

So, if you’ve read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, you know about Cath’s fan fiction: Carry On, Simon, based in the (fictional) author Gemma T. Leslie’s fictional, magical world. Well, this book is Cath’s pride and joy. That’s right, Rainbow Rowell actually wrote Carry On. Expect she didn’t, not really; this isn’t Gemma T. Leslie’s 8th Simon Snow book, nor is it Cath’s Carry On. For all we know, those characters got completely different endings than they did in this Carry On.

But anyways.

I may have rushed to Barnes & Noble the day it came out, and I may have not made cookies that I was supposed to be making so I could read. I made the cookies the next morning and was overall satisfied with the entire thing.

And Simon, I loved Simon. He was kind of a dork (and super naïve) and I adored him for it (come to think of it, I adore a lot of characters name Simon). He was the most terrible magician to ever touch a wand. But that doesn’t stop him from loving magic, and it doesn’t mean he doesn’t try, either. He’s just really, really terrible at it. He’s reckless and bold and wears his heart on his sleeve and would be the perfect main character if not for the whole terrible at magic thing.

And at the beginning, he hates Baz. Baz is this good looking, immaculate, talented guy who basically stinks of old blood, and on top of that, he’s kind of snarky. So Simon hates him. But doesn’t, at the same time. Their relationship is so interesting and it only gets more complex once you add the romance, unlike some other ones I’ve read (coughKatniss/Galecough).

I’ve had a couple of people ask me “isn’t this just a Harry Potter/ Draco Malfoy fan fiction?” No, it’s not. Simon isn’t Harry, Baz isn’t Malfoy, and while that particular fan-shipping may have been part of the inspiration for this story, it isn’t this story. I’ve also gotten the question, “I haven’t read Fangirl, so can I still read it?”

Yes.

There are a couple of sly references to Fangirl, which I enjoyed, as well as to Harry Potter. But this is neither Harry Potter fan fiction nor dependent on Fangirl.

And what I thought was cool is that this book uses the more traditional use of magic spells: some like it hot, up, up and away, stuff like that. Phrases that are used so often they have a power to them that mages can use.

I am docking a star, but it’s more because this book just didn’t have the “zing” that I expect  a five star book to have. It was good, yes, but it did drag in bits and I’m not aching to run and reread it as soon as I can.

FourStars

So! Do you guys agree or disagree with my review? Have you read Carry On yet? Do you want to?

Also, the giveaway for one of six ebooks is still running! No one has entered yet, so that means you have more of a chance of winning. 🙂

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

 

 


6 thoughts on “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell |A book from a book from a book

  1. I’ve been wanting to get my hands on this one for a while, since before it came out… I’m glad you liked it. I need to go ahead and get a copy. XD I loved the ‘excerpts’ in Fangirl.

    Like

Leave a comment