Top Ten Books I Adored That I Thought I Would Feel Indifferent About

topten-tuesday

I am currently face first in a pile of whipping cream, because I am writing this on a Sunday and I fully intend to Leslie Knope the rest of the day: that is drink coffee with whipping cream and eat waffles.

But I’m also using today to catch up on blogging, and so I’m writing my Top Ten Tuesday post!

5f295-toptentuesday

This week’s TTT is all about books you ended up loving that you didn’t think you would, which I’m quite happy about because I’ve read a lot of those types of books recently!

15749186 (1).jpg

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I didn’t read this for so long, because while I knew a lot of other people really liked it, I’m not the hugest fan of romances, and I tend not to actively seek out romances. Then one of my friends (who’d been telling me to read it since it first came out), got really frustrated, practically hit me over the head with it and said “Aine, it has lots of baked goods in it. JUST READ IT.” So I did. And I liked it!

32075671.jpg

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

I went into this book not really sure how I’d end up feeling about it, especially because the super hyped up books I’ve read recently haven’t been all that great. But this book is one of the rare few that stands up to the (utterly massive) hype around it.

black-widow-forever-red-stohl-705x1024.jpg

Black Widow, Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

I thought this was going be one of those somewhat stupid novels that read like really bad fanfiction. You know the type; questionable plot, characters acting not like themselves, ect. ect. ect. But this one was actually really well done!

28220892 (1).jpg

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

I’ve been hearing a lot about this book, and was excited, but then a friend who’s got around the same taste in books as I did read it and really didn’t like it, so I went into it assuming that I wouldn’t, either. But I did! And I’m happy.

28818314 (1).jpg

Roseblood by A. G. Howard

Same as with Vassa. A friend who’s got around the same taste in books as I do read it, really didn’t like it, and so I figured I wouldn’t like it, either. But, again, I did!

Steelheart-Reckoners-1-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

This is another book I went into not quite sure if I’d like it or not. It was a good enough premise, but I’d read books by this author before and not really liked them. And yes, it’s unfair to judge a book by previous books the author has written, but I did. But I still read it. And I liked it.

28588459 (1).jpg

Still Life With Tornado by A.S. King

I picked this book up on a total whim in the bookstore, and I have a very bad record of doing that. The previous books I’ve done this with I’ve ended up really not liking. But I apparently broke my streak on that, because this book was amazing. It’s magical realism, but it’s also a magical realism that the magic exists to unravel things that the MC has blocked from her mind, and I just really, really liked it.

the-swan-riders-9781481442749_hr.jpg

The Swan Riders by Erin Bow

I’ve loved Erin Bow’s other stuff, but The Scorpion Rules fell sadly flat for me. But this one…oh, I loved this one. Morally gray characters and a great plot and I totally love the MC and AIs and it’s like all my favorite things.

10576365.jpg

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger was the first book I read by this author, and I found it…uh…horribly boring. I was worried this one would be the same, but I have to say, this is a really good book. Yes, it’s slower than most dystopians, but that’s because there’s so much focus on character development and worldbuilding and it’s so awesome.

Sixofcrows.jpg

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I really didn’t like the Grisha series, as much as I wanted to, and I knew a lot of people loved this one for the characters, but I also knew a lot of people loved the Grisha series because of the characters. So I kept putting this off, and off, and off.

But turns out, I adored this book as much as everyone else.

Okay blogglings, what are some books you thought you wouldn’t like but it turned out you loved? Do we share any of the same books?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Adored That I Thought I Would Feel Indifferent About

Leave a Reply

