Ten Bookish Questions You Never Knew You Wanted Me To Answer

10 Bookish Questions.png

I borrowed this tag off of the wonderful Cait’s blog. And by borrowed, I mean slipped in and stole it before she could notice.

It’s been ages since there’s been an actual book tag circulating around; I think this one may be a mutated Sunshine blogger award, which has been around for ages…we need some new ones. And this is a new one! Even if it was mutated off of another one.

thequestions.png

What Are Your Top 5 Reads of 2017 So Far?

25322449.jpg25613472.jpg28458598-128220826-128588459 (2).jpg

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman: Podcasts and artists and demisexual characters and amazing friendships.

A List of Cages by Robin Roe: Ripped me apart with all of the FEELINGS and I enjoyed every second of it.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon: One of the cutest romances I have ever read.

When the Moon was Ours Anna-Marie McLemore: Beautiful storytelling and amazing characters and just OH MY GOSH THE WRITING STYLE.

Still Life with Tornado by A. S. King: Magical realism and real life problems and all the feelings.

Top Five Favorite Book Friendships

Cinder & Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles: They just pair so well together! Cinder’s eternal frustration with him, and her perfect comebacks to every crazy thing that comes out of Thorne’s mouth.

Kate & August from This Savage Song: Kate is a human who desperately wants to be a monster and August is a monster who desperately wants to be human. IS THAT NOT THE GREATEST BASIS FOR A FRIENDSHIP EVER OR WHAT?

Blue & Noah from The Raven Boys: I’m sad that they slowly had less time with each other as the series went on, because they just…seemed like they were such good friends and I miss him.

Aled & Frances from Radio Silence: I have not yet shrieked my absolute adoration of Radio Silence, so let me SHRIEK IT NOW. I LOVED RADIO SILENCE AND I LOVED ALED AND FRANCES.

Karou & Zuzana from Daughter of Smoke and Bone: Karou; mildly sarcastic, yes, but also very serious, paired with Zuzana, who’s tiny and snarky and loves chocolate cake. A match made in friendship heaven.

Most Anticipated Releases of 2017?

I could probably list a good fifty books here, so I narrowed it down to six. SIX. It was torture. And, in total honesty, I just listed the ones that came to mind first.

32075662.jpgCover-Reveal-The-Upside-Of-Unrequited-Large.png51i-h33m4kl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab: I loved This Savage Song, and if Our Dark Duet is half as good I’d probably still really adore it. Because everything Victoria Schwab touches is pure gold.

The Upside of Unequited by Becky Albertalli: Because I loved Simon Vs, and honestly, I think I’ll read anything Becky Albertalli writes after Simon.

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller: BECAUSE PIRATES.

31194576.jpgdownload (18).jpg31931690.jpg

Release by Patrick Ness: Because I love everything Patrick Ness touches.

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater: NEW. MAGGIE. STIEFVATER.

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia: It’s about a fanfiction writer and a webcomic.

How Many Books Are On Your TBR?

Maybe like 15 physically in my house? Plus about 25 holds at the library and who knows how many in just ones I want to read.

What Are Your Feelings On Book Merchandise?

I love some bookish things, such as t-shirts, bookmarks, that kind of thing. And I’m obsessed with buying bookish mugs of off Society6. It’s becoming a minor problem.

But there are some things I don’t really get. Like, I’d love to support other bookworms running their own bookish businesses, but I don’t really want to spend insane amounts of money on things like candles. I probably will at some point; again, I love the idea of supporting other bookworms, but I just don’t have the money to do it all the time.

Who Is the Latest Amazing Author You’ve Discovered?

Robin Roe’s debut, A List of Cages, is amazing and needs all the recommendations.

How Long Have You Been A Book Blogger?

My blog just turned two in December, so I’ve been doing this for two years! I’ve written blogs before, but they’ve all crashed and burned around the six month mark, and this is the first blog that I’ve actually been super serious about.

What Is Your Favorite Thing About Reading?

Wooo, ask the hard questions why don’t you? But I shall try my best to answer.

I love that I can experiance things through books that I would never be able to experience otherwise.

I love that I can read and relate to characters who are going through some of the same things I am.

I love that reading connects you to people; there’s a girl I talk to while waiting for the bus now almost every day because she saw me reading The Raven King and asked me how I felt about certain ships. I’ve gotten to know people better at school because we talk about our favorite authors.

But, mostly, I love that somehow, you’re holding this little, tiny piece of universe in your hands, and was originally just an idea in some stranger’s head, and now it is in your hands, in ink and paper and glue, and that’s just the absolute coolest thing to me.

What Are You Reading Soon?

I got my greedy little paws on an ARC of Words in Deep Blue, which is set in a bookstore and sounds amazing.

I finally checked out End of Days, the third book in the Penryn series, and I totally need to read that.

My copy of Caraval is sitting on my shelf staring at me asking WHY HAVEN’T YOU READ ME YET, so I need to get to that, as well.

Describe Yourself in 5 Book Titles.

Fangirl: Because isn’t that what all book lovers are? Fanpeople? (Totally a word, be quiet)

A List of Cages: Because I like making lists. Not so much the cage part.

The Girl From Everywhere: Because we are readers and therefor we are from everywhere!

I Am Not A Serial Killer: Because I’ve had to explain to people maaaaany times why I was researching how to kill someone.

100 Days of Cake: Because even though I had ALL THE PROBLEMS with this book, I am still a baker, and I still live and breathe cake.

So, I’m not going to actually tag anyone, just take this tag and do it if you want to! And, also, maybe link back to Cait because she’s the original mutate-r.

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

 

6 thoughts on “Ten Bookish Questions You Never Knew You Wanted Me To Answer

  1. OKAY I KNOW BASICALLY EVERY REVIEW OF IT HAS BEEN STUNNING, BUT I’M STILL A LITTLE HESITANT ABOUT RADIO SILENCE. I know, I know. But I just…..I’m so used to books with dragons and sorcerers and epic quests, I’m worried I’ll find the plot boring. The story’s the same with A List of Cages.

    Okay, I concede that Blue and Noah are great. But consider: Noah and Ronan.

    ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS, YES. I’m not sure how interesting the plot will be, but it’s by Francesca Zappia – so you know it’s going to be incredibly well-written. I’m also looking forward to Star-Crossed by Barbara Dee (MIDDLE GRADE LGBT+ REPRESENTATION, HELL YEAH), The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich, and Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney Stevens.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Like

    1. It’s a strange book. Like, I kind of felt “meh” about it the first couple of chapters, then by the end I looked up from it and realized I had fallen in love with it somewhere along the way.

      Like

  2. YAS I LOVED THIS. THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY. And you stole it with *coughs* permission…here you are trying to be evil but IT’S NOT WORKING, I SEE YOU. 😉 Also omg I’m so glad you love A List of Cages because that’s one of my favourite books of this year. ❤ And I want everything Patrick Ness writes too. Everything. ALSO MAGGIE STIEFVATER, HOLD MY CAKE, I NEED TO FLAIL.

    How cute are Aled and Frances though. #FriendshipGoals

    And I'm actually also obsessed with bookish mugs! I only own one though that I won and it's a Dragon Queen mug from Game of Thrones, so that is kind of awesome.😂

    Also your title-descriptions are THE BEST OF EVER.

    Like

  3. See, before I was book blogging, I’d see a book in the library on the New Books shelf and be all, “Oooh, one of my favorite authors has a new book out! It’s my lucky day!” and then I’d check it out, take it home, and read it. Now I’m all, “One of my favorite authors has a book coming out in ten months and now I must wait eagerly for it and then either splurge on buying it in hardcover or wait EVEN LONGER for it to come out in paperback or to get through the library holds list!” I’m not convinced this is progress.

    That being said, Patrick Ness AND Maggie Stiefvater AND Francesca Zappia?!? So exciting!

    And I agree that while I love bookish merch in theory, there are seriously only so many candles/bookmarks/mugs/totes/magnets one can use in life.

    I may wrongfully borrow this from you as well. Thanks!

    Like

    1. It’s funny how that happens, isn’t it? It seems like once people start book blogging all of a sudden this world of books kind of explodes and it’s totally awesome.
      And yes, you can only have so many of those things, but you can never have too many mugs. Cute, and useful! I love ’em.

      Like

Leave a Reply

