The Very Best Book Nerd Etiquette

0001-128831571.png

Some time ago, I did a post about the most proper Book Blogger Etiquette. Consider this post part 2.

For the most part, book nerds are very nice people, and one of the nicest online communities I have ever been apart of. But, because it’s the internet, sometimes you can be rude without realizing you’re being rude because you don’t actually hear yourself saying it. So, here are a couple of rules to follow.

DON’T JUDGE PEOPLE BY WHAT THEY READ

Look, we all have the one book we LOVE and are completely embarrassed to admit it. We know it’s horrible, but we still can’t help but adore it. EVERYONE HAS A BOOK LIKE THAT. Some people just don’t admit that they do. But if we all have a book like that, why do you judge people who actually admit that they love one of those books? We really shouldn’t.

So don’t. Look, it doesn’t make you better than someone else if your favorite book is A Tale of Two Cities or whatever and this other person’s favorite book is Twilight. That doesn’t make them less smart as you, or less of a book nerd.

ACCEPT PEOPLE HAVE DIFFERENT OPINIONS ON BOOKS

If you’ve been reviewing books on Goodreads for any semi-decent length of time, you know people can be less than polite if you give a one-star rating to their favorite book or a five-star rating to a book they think is the absolute worst book in the world. So you disagree with a review. This does not give you the right to call the reviewer an “idiot” or say that they have the wrong opinion. I follow three basic rules if I say that I disagree with someone’s review: 1)My goal is to disagree, not to insult, 2) Just because I loved/hated a book, does not mean that everyone has to love/hate it, and too keep that in mind, and 3) Never say anything that remotely resembles telling the reviewer that their opinion of the book is wrong.

IF YOU BORROW A BOOK, YOUR GOAL IS TO RETURN IT IN THE EXACT CONDITION IT CAME IN

There is nothing more infuriating than lending someone a book that’s in perfect condition and have it come back stained, ripped, bent, and just generally very used looking. So when you borrow a book, return it within about three weeks (same time frame as you would check a book out from the library), and in the exact same condition. If you need more time with the book, don’t ask for more time the day you’re supposed to return it. And if you do damage the book, get the lender a new one. And don’t skimp, either. If the book was hardback, get them a hardback, even if the paperback version is out. At the very least, get them a gift card so they can go and buy the new book themselves.

IF YOU GET A BOOK FOR CHRISTMAS/YOUR BIRTHDAY, READ IT

If we give you a book for Christmas/your birthday, we want you to love it. However, each time we come to your house and see the book, sitting sadly on the bookshelf, unread, or every time we ask you how you’re liking it and you say you haven’t started it yet, we get sad. Look, even if you DNF a book a hundred pages in, at least you tried it, and that is so much better than just leaving the poor little, innocent book to rot.

DON’T INTERRUPT SOMEONE WHILE THEY’RE READING UNLESS IT’S INSANELY IMPORTANT

You’re currently bleeding out on the kitchen counter and need us to drive you to the hospital for stitches? Important, and you may interrupt. There’s this really cute cat video that we should totally watch? Unimportant, do not interrupt (but email it to us).

AND, FINALLY, DON’T LIMIT US IN BOOKSTORES/LIBRARIES

We LOVE bookstores and libraries. But nothing ruins the magic of them like someone telling us, “you can only be in here for ten minutes.” Let us wander the shelves and choose our books in piece, and if you give us a time limit, we’ll probably ignore it, anyways. Also, if you’re in a rush, don’t follow us around the store signing and talking and complaining about how long it’s taking. That distracts us from the books and it’ll only take longer.

So, fellow book nerds! Is there any prime bit of etiquette that should be added to this list? Do you agree with the stuff on this list?

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

12 thoughts on “The Very Best Book Nerd Etiquette

  1. I can only agree with all of those. A friend of mine once borrowed a book, took it on vacation and read it by the pool. Her cousin threw a bucket of water on her and she was confused as to why I was angry about her returning my book completely ruined. I mean come on! I know that it wasn’t her fault in itself, but still.

    Like

      1. Exactly … but then even her mum made a fuss about it, saying that I won’t read it again anyway. In the end, they grudgingly bought it again. It was a hardcover book too, so yeah … I really wanted that one back in the same condition I gave it to her. I never let her borrow anything after that again hahaha

        Like

  2. That condition thing though! That’s why when I first lend people a book it’s like a “trial run”.. I give them one that isn’t one of my absolute favorites because I’ve had so many people just not return the book… Well, never lending them anything again! It’s more annoying when the book is part of a series that now I have books missing from!

    Like

  3. hehe I LOVE THIS. I should forward it to my family, because omg they give me such a hard time in bookstores/libraries. “Why do you need more books, Cait? Don’t you have enough?” OMG NO NEVER ENOUGH BOOKS. *hyperventilates*
    also I wish people would be more careful with library books? I feel like people trash them because they don’t belong to them and it bugs me SO MUCH. I hate reading ruined library books. :/
    The only one I have a bit of trouble with on your list is the reading-gifted-books. xDXD I MEAN YES YOU’RE 100% RIGHT. But I often procrastinate reading books I’ve been given. Because I haaate confessing if I didn’t like them. 😛 I am a giant wimp. Not even going to deny it.
    I LOVED THIS POST AINE. TRULY LOVED IT. 😀

    Like

    1. NEVER ENOUGH BOOKS. NEED ALL THE BOOKS. Yes, gosh it’s so frustrating to find a ruined library book. Like, treat it nicely, please. You’re not the only one who’s ever going to read it.

      And I procrastinate two, but I have friends that I’ll give them a book and they won’t read it for eight months. That’s slightly excessive.

      Like

  4. Don’t interrupt someone when reading a book is like my golden rule. I hate it when people interrupt me when I’m super engrossed in a book! Which is mostly why I only read when I’m alone nowadays 😅

    Like

    1. Yeah. Like, I used to love reading in the car, but now everyone tries to talk to me, and so I have to constantly stop and start and I will have to go back because I’m not taking in what I’m reading because people keep talkinh

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

